IN RETROSPECT

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today, I am thinking of those days in my high school and I am wondering how mysteriousand wonderful life is!
image
Back in the school in the 80s, we used to be students of missionary schools! We felt so special! Taught by white missionaries and proud that we were going to be great in our future!

Northern Nigeria then was so backward in education, they are still, at least to some extent. So we were lucky! We used to attend the Methodist church in those days!

I particularly remember that every Sunday, the choir made up of some beautiful young girls from the many secondary schools under the Methodist diocese would start the church every Sunday with this song!

The lyrics are so deep that even today when I am alone, and I begin to rewind the voices, I would feel like crying!
It goes:

How I often seat and ponder,
When the Sun is sinking low;
Oh where ere my path be leading;
Does but God in heaven knows.
Shall I be among the living,
Shall I mingle with the free!
But where ere my path be leading,
Saviour keep my heart with thee!

Oh the future lies before me,
And I know not where I'll be,
But where ere, my path be leading,
Saviour keep my heart with thee!

Today after many years, some of our mates have become notable people in this world, some have died, some became criminals, some are preachers, everyone scattered to this wild world doing what they never dreamt of.

Look at the lyrics of the song again and check your tomorrow.

If we knew and understood the real meaning of that song then, may be we should have prayed better for direction in life!

As long as we are still breathing, the future still lies before us!

What do you want to do with yours?