I convinced a roomate to sleep in goggles #6

in #life6 years ago

Sat, Nov 11, 2017 2:18 pm

How Am I Doing

In classes killing time
group of guys.JPG

All is good in the MTC this week, it's kind of weird to hear myself saying that going to Spanish class is my favorite part of the day but I digress!! My teachers are rad, my district is rad, and my branch is super rad. We got a fresh batch of new missionaries in our zone this week and I have somehow managed to convince every single one of them that I'm from Australia by using a cheesy accent that sounds like I'm British half of the time!!

Stuff I Need
I loved getting everyone's letters and Dear Elders!!! It makes the middle of my week super awesome when the District Leader comes around with the mail and letters of encouragement and news from everyone pop up on my desk!!! That's about all I can ask for right now is just Dear Elders, Letters, and Emails!!!!!

My Companion
I'm super stoked that I got Elder Donaldson because honestly I love my group but he's the most level headed guy out of the batch and knows how to deal with my over-enthusiastic self at times. He appreciates good old McBride humor and gets a laugh out of just about everything I do, but when I begin taking a joke too far in usual fashion he stops me before I make a complete fool out of myself.

The doll head my dad secretly packed in my luggage has been fun. Here it is in my companions closet. He takes this stuff like a champ
doll.JPG

Story Time
A pretty nasty cold has been sweeping through our district as of late and one elder was hit by it harder than everyone else, his name is Elder Bergenthaw. I think I've talked about him before but if not he's just an interesting guy that's really weird and does stuff in his own fashion that I find absolutely hilarious. Bergenthaw has been coughing so hard as of late that his lungs are going to come straight out of his mouth one of these night. Not only does he have the worst cold I think I have ever witnessed but to make matters worse a few days ago (at the height of his sickness) he awoke one morning to discover that he had contracted pinkeye the prior night. As word of this new epidemic spread the paranoia of neighboring elders in our zone slowly grew until there was talk of quarantining this poor elder away from everyone else so no one would get pinkeye!!! This accompanied by the new nickname of pinkie did not sit well with Elder Bergenthaw as he began getting angry with the zone members. My companion and I calmed him down and told the rest of the zone that it was going over board and so they all stopped torturing the poor guy. After the day had gone by I heard elder Bergenthaw become worried that he'd rub his eyes in his sleep and contract pinkeye in both eyes so what did I do???? Took advantage of the situation of course!!! We found some old science goggles that some random elder had and told Bergenthaw that if he wore them to bed he would definatley not get pinkeye a second time...... He for whatever reason believed us and took the goggles with him in the shower, all around the dorm, and yes.... even to bed!!!!!!! after a few minutes of trying to sleep in hi uncomfortable goggles we relented and told him it was a joke and he took it in good humor (thankfully)!

Elder Bergenthaw in his goggles with pink eye
goggles.JPG
berg.JPG

Spiritual Time
Super awesome experience this week, as a devotional speaker we got to hear Russel M. Nelson speak about obedience and the blessings thereof. My favorite quote was "Obedience brings blessings which are good, but perfect obedience brings miracles that will change the hearts of men". It's been really easy to follow rules here, but that doesn't go without saying there are a few that I think are kind of dumb rules, after hearing this I thought to myself, why not follow these rules I think are dumb and see the results of doing so??? It's been absolutely insane, My spanish is better than it has ever been, my retention of new principals and concepts is off the charts, and my teaching to investigators has taken leaps and bounds impossible to take over the span of a single week alone. It's exciting to see the words of an apostle in action so visibly!!! I love this place and can't wait to share more with you guys back home

mission surf.png

Elder McBride

Sort:  

Congratulations @racerex! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @racerex! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!