The 9th full moon of 2018

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180825_204655.jpg
Today will be this year's 9th full moon.

I'm a moon enthusiast. I gaze with all sense of wonder when I'm feeling all existential, romantic or sad... there's another emotion I get often and I've caught myself gazing at the moon then, but I don't know how that emotion is called... I tell you, it feels like your certain that this whole existence makes sense. That there's meaning to all reality and that it is nobody's fault or merit... it just is.
When I experience that emotion, for that or those seconds I feel I'm no longer in my body; it's like pausing the routine ever so briefly while all the timeline and all you know gets compressed into one thought. So yes, there's a lot before my existence, and yes, there's gonna be a lot after my death; so yes, I'm just a tiny minuscule being with a tiny minuscule amount of time to experience this huge place; this huge reality. But the simple fact that I compare myself to such immensity is already comforting and nourishing...it's a relief. Because just by thinking about eternity and omnipresence I'm experiencing it. Because consciousness is big enough to do that and we tiny humans have it... it's like the ultimate comprehension.

But anyways, I'm not talking about that emotion here but about the moon... la Luna.
IMG_20180825_204745.jpg
It's far away, but when it's full it feels very close. Once you've noticed it's up there you can't ignore the fact anymore.
When it's dark enough at night it can illuminate plenty outdoors so as to let you find your way in an open field. And since it illuminates all around when you're exploring nature at night, we could say it keeps you company without sounding too crazy.

The moon is associated with craziness in folklore of the small towns I grew up in... people's temporal eccentric or weird behaviors were supposed to be due to the full moon.
There's a song by Simon Diaz called "el loco Juan carabina" that talks about this moon temporal craziness. The song is very good, I recommend you listen to it:


So in this folklore people get crazy with the moon. Similarly in other folklore the full moon is a trigger for some people to become werewolves, and in this case there are several good songs I could recommend, but definitely "full moon" by Sonata Arctica is by far my favorite:

Some planets don't have moons and others have many. The theory about how Earth got it's moon is impressive; an immense object collided with our young planet nearly shattering it out of existence, but instead scattering into orbit tons of earthly material with which by gravity gradually the moon was formed.

While it's certainly unlikely that the moon is responsible for some people's seasonal madness or canine anthropomorphism, we know for sure that the moon is responsible for the tides and other natural processes, so you see, it's very important that our moon stays there doing it's job besides captivating our subjectivity, compelling us to create all kinds of songs, poems and stories, making us spend our savings in expensive telescopes and capturing our gazes of fools in love.
IMG_20180825_204859.jpg
And the fact is that our moon is getting farther away from us every year at a rate of about 3 centimeters I think😕 something like that... But it's not like they say on YouTube; that some day we'll be left without a moon for that reason☝ nope... no reason to be afraid because that day in the far future when we're facing the problem of a fading escaping moon, we can simply go there, install a huge rocket on the dark side of the moon, and thrust her ass back into orbit... I'm I right?😀... Some moon enthusiast scientist are gonna have to work on that technology👍.

The moon is currently 384.400 kilometers away, but according to this rate of distancing it was 70.56 meters closer back when Alexander the great was conquering Asia... now, imagine being a dinosaur gazing at the moon😍! "Talk about a moon-lid night"...

Some day I will write my own song about the moon. I'm happy it's there.

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. Latest Curator's Choice post: here. About IINC: here.