You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This series of stories will be titled 'I'm surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood ...' 40

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I remember my grandmother used to wear a Indian traditional clothes called "saree" all the time! Even at bedtime! I used to ask her if her waistline doesn’t hurt with the petticoat tied so tightly all the time. She said that she feels nothing of the sort and that in any other attire, she’d feel ‘extremely uncomfortable’.

There were even communities where really young girls wore sarees. Like I said, more than just an attire, it became a part of your persona. Women wore sarees of different varieties and in different styles based on several factors like region, community, etc.

Thanks to Indian cinema’s romanticizing of the saree over the years by associating it with sensuality, femininity, and poise, the usage of the garment has not been wiped out completely by the so-called ‘new generation’. Young people nowadays usually do opt to wear a saree if they intend to ‘impress’ someone ;-) And in all probability, it will survive for time immemorial.

Thanks @micheele.gent sharing with us your cute childhood stories with us. These stories reminds my childhood too and my grandma ❤!

Sort:  

I'm pleased they do!

Thanks for sharing your story of the Saree and your Grandmother <3