My playlist for anybody willing to listen | 3 songs

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Here's a short list of my all-time favorite songs. And what they mean to me. I hope you like the songs as much as I do!


Agætis Byrjun • Sigur Ros

YoutubeApple Music

I have lived many lives since I discovered this song. But I can say with cosmic certainty that this is my top favorite song. This is perhaps the most amount of certainty I will ever have in this lifetime.

Last year, I decided I will spend the last year of my life in Iceland. The place is magical and Sigur Rós is full of charms. The plan is this: when I’m nearing the end of my life, I will buy a one-way plane ticket to Iceland. I will start every day with Olsen Olsen, my morning song, and slip into every night with Njósnavelín, my dreaming song.

I hope I make friends of artists there. So, I can tell them how to serve me in death — by playing Agætis Byrjun ( pronounced au-guy-tis bir-hyun) at my funeral — which is going to be a busking event. I want art to be made the day I die, so much of it they run out of paper and paint, so much of it that strings of instruments break, so much art that it is enough to mourn a thousand losses.


Jesus of Suburbia • Green Day

YoutubeApple MusicCover art

This was the song I wanted to die to, before Agætis Byrjun. How things change!

Dearly beloved are you listening?
I can’t remember a word that you were saying
Are we demented or am I disturbed?
The space that’s in between insane and insecure

Growing up, there probably wasn’t another song I related to as much as I did to Jesus of Suburbia. It spoke to my teenage angst and conundra. I was a social outcast (I may be overreacting here) who sat in the back of the school bus, with legs placed unwieldily on the seat, a deep-blue neckband (don’t like the word choker) and a leather-brown jacket copy of Oscar Wilde’s Picture of Dorian Gray in the pages of which my girlfriend drew rainbows (maybe I wasn’t overreacting, yeah?)

And there’s nothing wrong with me
This is how I’m supposed to be


Screen • Twenty One Pilots

YoutubeApple MusicCover art

Ever heard of imposter syndrome? I’mposter boi for imposter syndrome. Of course, I know I’m a piece of wanker sh✿t who thinks he’s smug enough to be the poster child for anything. Hello, there! I’m chocolate candy and I don’t make a lick of sense, ’cause I lack essence. You look fine and dandy. Candy?

I’m standing in front of you
I’m trying to be so cool
Everything together, trying to be so cool

Only the afraid seek fearlessness. And I’ve had my shield (Screen, if you will) on for so long, it’s sunk into my skin. And it hurts to take it off. Life is what happens to you while you’re busy wiggling out of your shields, is what John Lennon said, I think.
Some days, you pull the shield so hard, you lose some skin. Sometimes mere inches, sometimes palm-sized patches. Sometimes bone. I’m missing whole organs.

We’re broken
We’re broken
We’re broken
We’re broken people, oh.
We’re broken people, oh.


And that's it for tonight. If you enjoyed this post and would like me to share more songs from my playlist, let me know by upvoting and resteeming. Help me find new music by sharing your favorite songs in the comments.


Follow, Upvote & Resteem. It helps me write. :)

My mission · My Instagram · My Blog

Sort:  

Twenty one pilots are one the best groups i ve ever listened to,but i don't know this one!!

twenty øne piløts practically restored my faith in music in this last year. Can't get enough of them!