I almost gave up

in #life8 years ago

On July 10th 2016 I posted my first blog and my first vlog. It felt great.

I made a commitment that I would do that every single day starting that day. I made a commitment to do these 8 things every day:

Habits of a better me - Do these every single day.

  1. Go to sleep between 9 and 10 PM.
  2. Wake up between 5:30 and 6 AM.
  3. Write one page in my journal.
  4. Go hard and smart at the gym.
  5. Run for 20 minutes.
  6. Post one youtube video.
  7. Publish one blog post.
  8. Drink at least one gallon of water a day.


Why? 

Because I was sick of not being in control. 

I was sick of not doing my best every day. 

I was sick of waiting for a change. 


So I started taking the steps towards a better me. I took control of my day. I had a schedule. 


I started blogging and vlogging for two main reasons:

  1. Document my transition from thinker to doer.
  2. Help others become the best version of themselves.


It made me feel great. I was proud of myself. I was productive. I was getting over my “fears”. I’m not going to reiterate everything I have said in previous blogs, but in order to get over your doubts, insecurities and fear you have to do the things you fear most. The things that are difficult. The things that are stressful.


I understand all of this and I know that the hardest thing to get over is your own self doubt. The excuses that your mind makes up are very convincing sometimes. I know this and I still almost gave up.


So what happened? I was (and still am) under a lot of stress. And I know that there are people who are a lot worse off than me, but these are just excuses that my mind has made up to make me stop being productive and achieve my goals. The human mind is very good at this.


So back on July 10th I made a commitment. Then things started getting a lot more stressful when i started running out of money. I stopped writing. I stopped vlogging. I was in a slump. I got lazy. I said it didn’t really matter. I think i almost gave up. I started believing the excuses that my mind was making up. This resulted in even more stress and then depression kicked back in. I started spiraling down again. 


Life got really stressful the past couple of weeks and I used that stress as an excuse to give up my habits.

I see now that giving up those habits only makes things worse.

Feeling sorry for myself only makes things worse.

I got WEAK! 


Now there are even more reasons to give up. Even more reasons to stay like this. Unproductive. Lazy. One of them being: You’ve already given up. Why try again? How is this time going to be different? Just give up all together. You’re just not good enough.


But these are just excuses that my mind has made up to make me stay lazy and unproductive.

Why?

Because being lazy and unproductive is great. You don’t have to do anything. You can sit in your pj’s all day and eat junk food for every meal and just watch netflix or hulu or whatever people watch these days. It just feels right, doesn’t it?


But I’m done with that. I want to go back to being productive and happy.

No more excuses. 

No more lazy.


So there it is. My first blog post after about two weeks of having almost given up. 


If you’re like me and you know that you can do better, just make a plan and follow it. And if the excuses in your head get too convincing and they actually break your routine, it’s never too late to come back. Just like it’s never too late to start.


Yes, I broke my routine, I failed. 

But I also got back up and kept going.


I know that there are lots of motivational blogs and vlogs out there, but this is just my story. My journey.

Just believe in yourself and you can accomplish anything. 





Sort:  

Congratulations @razchiriac! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @razchiriac! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @razchiriac! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!