Cheap Options for Digital Nomads this Winter in SE Asia...

in #life2 years ago

I've been feeling the urge to go on a little trip to Asia this Autumn/ Winter and drift a little - so I've been looking up some of the rates for co-working and co-living spaces and there are some great deals, AND in places I actually fancy going to....

I've explored a few options in Thailand, Vietnam and Bali and pretty much narrowed it down to the following three places ALL of which offer very competitive rental rates only slightly more expensive than my rent here in Portugal....

NB I've decided to post pictures of their pricing rather than the 'dreamy' images of their spaces - they're pretty much all the same those photos, punishingly obvious semiotics.

Chang Mai - Hub 53

I didn't get to go to Chang Mai when I was in Thailand for the last IRL HiveFest so I feel like this is unfinished business - it's in the North and CHEAP...

Screenshot 2022-07-13 at 14.48.02.png

Hub 53 has long term rentals with a mid price of UNDER £300 a month! And that includes co-working space access.

This is defo the place to start.

Bali - Biliq

Biliq co-working and co-living space seems like a decent option in Bali - with a cost of around $480 a month for a studio room in March, the change between the rainy and dry season, sounds VERY reasonable to me!

Screenshot 2022-07-13 at 14.52.47.png

I kind of like this place as they have a running track round some paddy fields, that'd be amazing in the rainy season!

Vietnam... HubHoi

HubHoi in Vietnam is a little more expensive at $500 for a standard room but still VERY reasonable - and it has a pool.

Screenshot 2022-07-13 at 15.15.44.png

Not sure I like the vibe that goes along with the name 'laughter villa' as I'm a miserable fuck, but hell for those prices I can smile at least!

Other options

There are more expensive options in Thailand especially - some insanely nice island based options, but these are like $1000 a month in the peak season when I'll be there, for a room with air con which is ESSENTIAL, and I can wait to do the beach in Bali - it's the same thing, right?!? And half price!

The plan

I fancy hopping around a bit - probably Chang Mai for November -December then Vietnam for January or January-February and finally Bali for February-March or just March - the rainy season is coming to an end in March in Bali, so weather I want to be in the Feb when it's proper rainy season I'm not sure - I don't think it would be too bad, I am there to work, after all!

And I'd be swapping a pretty beaten up old stone house which is going to be cold this winter for a very nice apartment for a sweet climate for only around $100 more than what I pay here in Portugal (I can store any excess stuff for free).

I've been feeling working online recently - somewhat unexpected but I've been finding myself really enjoying the blogging work and it seems to be working to maintain my income at a decent level, so that's quite a motivator!

Nothing set in stone yet, I'll make a decision and book flights by the end of July, I like to get in early!

Sort:  

That's nice! I my self was almost headed to Bali for next winter but then I changed direction...Anyway, those are good prices.

Have you heard of the community Nomadlist (.com I think)?! I've always wanted to join but never did. It's a community of people doing digital nomading 365 days/year.

Thanks for the link, I hadn't heard of it but I will check it out for sure!

!PIZZA

BEER

That sounds brilliant. I often think I was born too early. This type of adventure would have been right up my street when I was young and single. Back packing round the world was the best I could do then.

Being able to stay in places like that and take your work with you . . . what an opportunity!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's pretty neat, isn't it - I also think Covid has suppressed the prices a little in that part of the world!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@revisesociology(1/10) tipped @davdiprossimo (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Sounds like an ideal opportunity plus it will help refresh the batteries. Will also give you new topics to write on which is an added bonus. Always wanted to go that side as I love trying new food and it is cheap in comparison to most other places today.

It's a good way of looking at it - travelling does make it easy to write for sure!