Quitting my day job to change the world | Chapter 2: The mindset to endure (part 1/3)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

brain-2146817_1280.png

In the first post of this series I’ve talked about the reasons made me decide to leave my job and devote myself to create a positive impact on the world. However, I know that the path will be long and difficult. To prevail it’s essential to cultivate a mindset that allows to overcome the (many) difficulties that will arise. This topic, due to the its density, will be divided into three parts.

Versão portuguesa

Part 1 - See the reality for what it is

One of the most frequent problems we face, when trying to create something new, is to let dreams and ambitions to cloud our vision of reality. As human beings, we have a fantastic imagination and it is very easy to create ideals and utopian goals in our mind. The desire for our project to succeed can blind us and, when the goals we have imposed on ourselves do not come true, lead us to frustration and even to give up.

I think the best approach will be to base ourselves on the scientific method to avoid illusions and maintain a close relationship with reality. In other words, every action must have a well-defined purpose. We should aim for a measurable outcome, clearly define how to assess it and which steps to take to achieve it. This is essential for two reasons, it gives each action a clear direction, avoiding deviations or distractions, and it enables objective evaluation of the result, learning and improving from it.

Example: I am looking for coins to make quick exchanges when I see the chart ETH / BTC. I identify three reasons to buy and predict a minimum profit of 5%. After taking note of this information, I make the purchase and place sell orders according to my projections. The ETH dumps instead of having the climb that I predicted. I do not feel frustration or despair as I can simply review the information I wrote down to make this decision and find out why the result was not the anticipated. This way I learn and adjust my approach so next time I will not make the same mistake.

It is very important not to be afraid to make mistakes and do our best with the knowledge we have at the moment. If the results are not as expected we should analyze them critically and identify discrepancies between our understanding and reality. Reality must always be our guide and, however difficult it is, we should try to understand it, putting aside our attachments and delusions. If the reality points in a different direction than of our convictions we must adjust them accordingly, ignoring it is futile and can quickly prove fatal. If we follow this process our learning and growth will be exponential!

carl-sagan-reality-quote.jpg


Picture 1: Source
Picture 2: Source


Thanks for reading!

This is the second post in a series that describes my journey to quit my day job and set up an organization with the aim to make a positive impact on world. In this post described the mindset that I'm adopting to take this path. The next posts, after completing this topic, will talk about the practical approach that I will implement.

What is your opinion?

Have you ever felt frustrated or give up something you believed because you didn’t achieve the expected results? Do think that cultivating a closer relationship with reality helps to keep you on track?

Previous chapters


template banner gordo1-01.png

Picture by @shaden

Share your questions and opinions!
Do you want to know more about me and my work? Consult my blog.

Seem you soon!
Ricardo

Sort:  

Jump fully into it.
Invest in multiple methods.
Reinvest in what works best.
Continue to discover new paths and methodologies.
And utilize all of nature's magic and technologies.

One Love

Thank you for your words! I intend to do exactly that.
I've checked your blog, great stuff followed you.
Cheers mate

Good post man! I for one am thinking of doing the same, that is why I have started my offgrid posts here. Wishing you all success.

Thank you very much! I also think this platform is a very good place for this kind of content. I'm having amazing feedback and finding awesome people who share the same ideas. By the way, I've checked your blog and I've become instantly a fan of your work!

Keep it up!