You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Year's Resolutions: The One that Failed

in #life6 years ago

About a year ago I had a revelation about how to make better resolutions. Most people tell us to set SMART goals, but when we put too much pressure on ourselves to change or stop something, it's too easy to slide back into old habits.
So, the revelation: focus on how you want to feel instead of the thing you want to achieve. For me, it was thinking about how I wanted to feel endlessly energetic—vitality is my word. It seemed hokey pokey, but it worked! Instead of focusing on losing 10 pounds, going on a diet, hating every moment of it...I just decided this isn't how I want to feel anymore and I started to replace bad habits with good habits over time.
I just spent the past week hardly exercising, eating crap, drinking too much alcohol and coffee, but I actually don't feel bad about it because I trust myself to get back to normal after NYE. It's a weird paradigm shift. Maybe I'll write a full post about this...