The Sounds of Silence - I sure do miss it!

in #life5 years ago

Now, this might come off as a complaint, but it is meant to be a celebration, an appreciate for that sweet silence.

Mary Beth and I really do live a simple life. We are up somewhere between 0430 and 0500; I get the coffee going; and then we may spend the next two hours with a dozen or so words between us. Not that we don't have anything to say to one another - we have a wonderful relationship and cherish every moment we have together - its just that we really enjoy, moreover thrive on, some quiet time to ourselves. And, we mange to do that living in a very tight environment on our sail boat.

We don't watch television and rarely have music playing. We just don't have a need to fill every void with Noise!

So, here's the deal. We have been at my step-mother's for a few days to help her move out of her house and into an assisted living apartment. Now, I love this woman! She raised me and is a big part of making me the man I am today..... But, holy cow; the noise! At 80 years of age, I know there is no turning of that tide. 0530 to well after sundown there is either the TV or the radio going at a bazillion decibels! Not a moment of quiet!

Again, I'm not complaining. I'm just yearning for the quiet at home and thinking about how we got to this place where many (most?) of us are compelled to fill every moment with such noise.

300+ cable channels of non-stop babel; head phone-connected-smart phones streaming music and Podcast; Muzak in the stores we visit.... the list goes on!

Yup, yearning for some quiet!

Give me the racket of waves crashing on the shore. Bring on the cacophony of wind, and birds, and the roar of the wake behind the boat at hull speed...... Let me suffer the dissonance of flowing creeks and chattering frogs.....

And most certainly give me a little space to listen to the perking of the coffee!

Sort:  

Simple life is good. I try to lead a simple life too. But sometimes, there is family obligations and .... its's complicated. lol... I admire that you are able to live as you do. It must be heavenly.

As for your step-mother, I know you are not complaining, but I guess you just have to bear with the situation and let her be. She is getting on, and I am sure you don't want to deprive her of her 'noise', or you will regret it when she is gone. :-)

You are absolutely right brother! That is why I shared that experience here! Sad maybe, but I can guarantee that she'll never read my blog! LOL.

Take care and keep well. Cheers! :-)

Hi @michaelglass, I know exactly what you mean. My parents always turned the radio on full blast at 6am every morning. It was tough to wake this way. I love the quiet and solitude too. And, we need it to still our minds.

Congratulations @rmichaelglass! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rmglass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.