Kayak Fishing , Sharks and more

in #life6 years ago

sharkfin.png

So I got myself a Fishing Kayak as a little rewards to myself (price was $430 down from $699 so I had to buy it!).
First place I chose to Test out the new toy was a place called Point Peron, Which is a nice sport with small beaches surrounded by large rock walls and reef system so lots of fish around.
Point person.jpg

Now I have fished from a young age but have never Kayak before so my choice of beach may have been a bit ambitious to say the least as wind changes and swell can make the water very choppy.
When I first got on the water it was calm and swell was quite low so was easy paddling, So I chose my point where I wanted to fish which was about 1500m from where I set off!
This was the first real test for the Kayak and it didn't let me down! was gliding through the water with ease and I was able to move quite quickly, after about 10-15mins I was exactly where I wanted to fish.
So I threw in my first line not really knowing how it would go and BAM! barley had the line in 10 seconds and I was ON! it felt very small but thats ok it was my first outing so was not expecting any trophies!
I had my GoPro Hero with me (old model with no display) and was able to get a few snaps (will have to set up some mounts and film my fishing trips). here are 2 on the little fish I caught.
My fish (2).jpg

My fish 2.jpg

After about 2 hours of fishing and about 20 catch and releases ( I only fish for fun so all are placed back to where they came from) The winds changed to an onshore causing it to be quite choppy so I decided to head in. At this point I had let myself drift with the current and was about 2000m from where I set off. So After about 20mins paddling in (the winds made it a little harder to come in) I saw a dark figure in the water and saw grey fin breach the water, my first instinct was dolphin as I had grown up in the area and always saw dolphins here, but then the tail also breached! IT WAS A SHARK! a shark much bigger than my Kayak . It was about 50m away and coming straight at me and quick! but then it change course and swam away! It was the most exhilarating yet scary moments in my life.

Can't wait to get out again, but will go on a day with better winds or maybe stay on the estuaries.

Thanks for reading and please follow and upvote for more of my content

Sort:  

Mate I would never do this on Kayak, here in Australia it is pretty full on =). Careful though =)

Yeah I've grown up in Perth my whole life and we get some pretty big Sharks out here but pretty sure this was just a tiger or Bronzey which I'm pretty sure wouldn't have a go at the Yak its the Whites that would be the ones to stay away from. I think Ill just go on the river or estuaries for a while though!

I am from gold coast! Upvoted and followed.

nice! some big sharks out that way too!

I try not to swim in the Ocean. :)