Value of a life

in #life6 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg


I don't know who told me my address, he suddenly stood before me. An old friend who had never met for almost ten years, his stature had nothing to change from the way he combed to how to dress. Even if I don't remember wrong, the clothes he wore at that time were everyday clothes that I saw ten years ago. he shod, but I couldn't look at it for a long time, just because he was worried he would be offended if I looked at him for a long time. A shabby clapper bag was attached to his back, a pair of trousers that had faded black.

Call it Riyan, he immediately opened his hand hoping I hugged him as warmly as before every time we met. Of course I welcome the openness of the hand, we embrace warmly and long enough. The scent of the sun was quite stinging from his body which did not make me want to let go of it, the fragrant longing between us had beaten everything. Riyan, the man my age was trembling violently even though only a few minutes we hugged, I felt there was a drop of water on my shoulder. "It's been a great friend of mine, apparently ..." his lips trembled.

After talking a little about the past journey, I was rather fun asking his family. Riyan was immediately stunned, making me feel guilty about releasing the question. His lips were about to move to say something, but what was heard was only an indistinct murmur. "Sorry if I offend you ..." my sentence was cut quickly, "Ooh no, it's fine ..."

A few seconds later I was able to read his mind, "What can I help my friend?" His face was suddenly filled with a smile, a smile I had never seen for a long time, which I saw last ten years ago. While patting my shoulder he joked, "Successful people like you can definitely help me get out of this life problem ..."

I listened to his story about his bankrupt computer repair business so he spent days without income for almost three years. Regarding his nomadic life because he was unable to pay the rented fee, the last rented house he had occupied at this time had already been in arrears for three months and was given an ultimatum in one month to pay off immediately. Not to mention the problem of school fees for his children, which he could not afford at all.

In my mind, "Maybe he will borrow or ask for a large amount of money". Sometimes I act heroically, wanting to help someone even though conditions often do not allow for maximum help. But apparently my guess was wrong, Riyan only asked a little of what I thought, and then borrowed it. "I want to borrow 2 dollar, can I?" he asked carefully, maybe he was worried that I could not lend it.

I smile, 2 dollars is certainly no longer a loan. In my habit, the name of the loan can be up to hundreds or millions. "This is my friend, if 2 dollars I don't want to lend it, but I will give it to you ... sinc ..." I canceled calling this word. Even I gave more than he asked for, even though later Riyan said that what I gave was still a loan status. I said, "it's a gift" he said, "this is a loan", I ended the debate about status by giving in to his persistence to keep "borrowing", not "asking".

I haven't heard from him for two months. I don't know what he can do with that little money. Until a few days ago, I got a short message from someone, "I want to return 2 dollars that I borrowed the other day". I was confused as to who sent the short message because his name was not printed, after I asked who sent it, sent a short message again, "This is Riyan, sorry I can't reply to the message because the friend's phone is used".

I decided to call the number directly and talk to him. I already said that money is not a loan, but a gift. But he still insisted on wanting to return it. His story, that day after getting money from me he immediately bought a box of mineral water for sale. After one box, he bought again, sold it again and so on. So that one month later he had little money to be used as capital to trade in perfection. Not only that, he was rescued from the rent of the rented owner because he could start repaying the leased rent fees. "I am grateful, I still have friends who pay attention ..." he said from the other side of the phone.

I really wanted to see my friend again, this time I would hold her longer and tighter even though I knew the smell of the sun was more intense than what I had swallowed about two months ago. This heart is clearly flowery, there is an emotion that continues to envelop the walls of the soul after the conversation on the phone. Still ringing in my ears when he just wanted to borrow 2 dollars, far from my previous expectations. But the 2 dollars he wants to borrow is a life value for a Riyan.

Two dollars, for some of us it's only worth a pack of rice in a stall at lunch. But for people like Riyan is a long life for him, his wife and two children. Two dollars for some of us is not enough for our children's daily allowance, but for Riyan two dollars is a long smile of his wife and children. Two dollars, which for some of us are often considered coins, but for a Riyqn is a meaningful life value.

Friend, do you know the meaning of two dollars?