Belly Dump Trailer

in #life6 years ago


The snapshot shows my truck and the belly dump shown in this video. A close up view of the belly opening. Don't put your hand in there when it closes!
This video is being uploaded for a more in depth SteemIt post.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Now that right there is a belly dump! Cool little video.

The job we're working on separates us so I don't get the chance to video another belly dumping. Maybe I can get the grader operator to film for me!

TWO lift axels?
awesome!

Our mechanics added the second. It's pretty rare. They custom built the hydraulic tank also. Tractor is legal up to 61,500 lbs but it's hard to get enough weight on the front axle.
The second drop allows me to get up to 105,500 with the walking floor and the side dump. That's max in WA without an overweight permit.

Sooo, I'm sure there are applications for this contraption, but you still have to drag your trailer through whatever you dumped! That could get expensive on tires if you are hauling something sharp like ​crushed chert or some such thing. I've seen grain trailers that are similar, but they drop over a pit. What do you use this for?... It looks like crushed limestone fell out.

I've been hauling 1 1/4" minus crushed basalt. I will show how this trailer functions in a post in the next couple of days.