Not Everyone Likes B-B-Que

in #life6 years ago (edited)

At a birthday party b-b-que for our granddaughter in Richland WA last week, we had a party crasher.
20180908_184206.jpg

20180908_184307.jpg

20180908_184335.jpg

20180908_184435.jpg

20180908_184538.jpg

20180908_184547.jpg

This Preying Mantis didn't like me invading his space with my cell phone camera, or the sun in his(her) face. When it started lashing out at me with it's intimidating front legs, I let him step onto a stick and transported him to a bush at the edge of the lawn.
I guess it prefers live food to b-b-que.

Animated GIF-downsized_large.gif

Sort:  

Even smaller ones are pretty aggressive. Have you ever seen a pod of them hatch? There are a kazillion and are born with territorial instincts. (They start trying to eat each other right away.) I hatched a couple of pods and had been told to scatter them in my garden, not put groups of them together because in each group only one would survive.

I have relatives in northern Oregon who have been posting photos of mantises (manti?) of this same size and they were laying egg pods. I wonder if this one was looking for a good location for that?

haha! howdy there roundhere! hey I've never seen a praying mantis of this color before, is that the way ya"ll grow them up there? lol.

Sometimes they are a slight shade of green, kind of like grass. If I'm not mistaken, preying mantis can change color.

howdy back sir roundhere! oh really? Well sir, it wouldn't surprise me one bit. Are you off weekends or does it just depend on the job?

We don't work that many weekends, but I help my workmates often on the weekend. It would be easy to work 100 hr per week, but my body can't take it anymore.
I forget, are you retired?

sir roundhere! I thought that truck drivers were strictly limited in how many hours they could drive each day for supposed safety concerns?

I'm in forced retirement at the moment but I'm keeping my eyes out for something to do because I'm not ready to retire.

Regulation bullsht. For the most part we self report, so there are plenty of ways to skirt the restrictions. If I am working for friends, not for hire, there are no regulations.
Sorry to hear about the forced retirement. Will you have to change occupations, or can you do something different in the same field?

howdy there roundhere! well sir, that makes sense about the work around and restrictions.

In regards to the forced retirement issues...yeah our old career is out so it will have to be something new. I was hoping to find something online so I don't have to travel and can be more independent and that's how I found out about steemit actually, I was looking for some possible legitimate way to make some income, part time would even work for now.

So I'll watch steemit and see how it looks in a few weeks, I'd hate to leave it but there may not be much of a reason to stay! lol.

How prehistoric yet futuristic looking they are. I'm sure he/she meant no disrespect to the cook!

The thing was fearless. At least it appeared to be. When it felt I was too close, it used it's front legs to box at me. Actually, a little intimidating.
I thought about how some folks eat grasshoppers and wondered if Preying Mantis was on any ones menu. Definitely not mine.

ha! I couldn't eat anything that creeps me out that bad lol

I think the reason they fascinate me so much, is that they are creepy and alien.

Prey Mantis's are interesting creature. They do look like Aliens ,but I do like them.

I was actually very excited to see him. They are one of my favorites.

GOD IS CREATURE OF ALLJellyfish.jpg

We do have some strange looking creatures here.

Congratulations @roundhere! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I love them, I feel like they are communicating

You've quit steem?

Had some health issues, changing jobs and moving. Had to put Steeming on the back burner. (no pun intended)
It's going to be a good but challenging next few months.
I'm still very optimistic about Steem and blockchain. It is still my retirement plan.
I agree that preying mantis seem incredibly intelligent. I just don't know their language.