Don’t spend your living your parents dream...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I’m a 3rd year mining engineering student and I am 25 years and I’ve spent 7 year studying doing something an don’t have a passion for...and this is the first time I’m completely honest with myself and to be honest its much easier admitting it to stranger over the internet than actually telling people that know me...

download.jpg

That’s why I really want to address this issue with other parents and teenager that is struggling to make a decision about their next step in their life...life is not just black and white life is beautiful and colorful and we need to embrace this not everyone has to work a 8 to 5 job. You don’t have be an accountant, doctor or engineer, life has more to offer and don't EVER make the mistake to force you children in doing something they don’t want to do, just because you want them to do it..You will never realize what kind of damage you are creating and how you’re actually setting your child up for future disappointment and possible depression. And that’s how I feel today: depressed and trapped living someone else’s dream

140227091721-dream-college.jpg

I’m a parent and student and I am going to give you advice on how to deal with teenager that haven’t made up their minds yet.

To study or not study….or take a gap year…

If your child finishes school and you don’t want them to sit at home and work on your last nerves but you know they are not sure about what they want to study? Or if they want to study at all?
You have to breathe calm down and help them take the next step and when I say help, I don’t mean forcing them into doing what you want…no I mean help them get through the process listen to what they want and decide together

But do not tolerate a lazy child that wants to lay on the couch watching Netflix!!!!

So here is what you can do:

-You can help them to get a work as an au pair not only will this give them the time to experience a different world and different culture, but it will also give them a sense of responsibility. I wish my mother could have done this for me instead

-Or help them find a local job until the figure out what they want to do, but NEVER EVER force them to do something they don’t want to … your kids need to so what makes them happy...isn’t that what we want as parents? To see our kids completely happy?

And for the indecisive teens

images (1).jpg

Remember you don’t have to follow any ones dream but your own and you need to make yourself happy because happiness comes within and you cannot be happy living someone else’s dream, but don’t become a couch potato and take charge of your future

So I want to know what your dream is. Are you living your dream? Or are you doing something because your parents basically forced you? Let me know in the comment section bellow

images 2.jpg

Sort:  

Using irrelevant tags, especially popular tags, makes it hard to find good and relevant content.
Please try to use only relevant tags when posting!

#introduceyourself

The “introduceyourself” tag is for creating a post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

AL ROKER WELCOME.gif
And here's an upvote for you, enjoy!

Congratulations @roxyferis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!