You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bully-Proof Your Kid - Dealing With Bullies

in #life6 years ago

Hello xmarqz, I really find your article to be interesting. It is the beginning of a very important discussion that needs to be had. I am the survivor of bullying, so this topic really hits home. I feel that some of the vocabulary you are using is not necessarily accurate, perhaps because of translation tools, but I do get the gist of what you are saying.

My mother always told me to kill with kindness. Frankly, that never worked for me, as I am much too sensitive. However, I have learned to walk away... which normally works best. Admittedly, I had to fight back when I was pushed too far one too many times!

I still struggle to understand "why" a person would bully. I mean, I get that a person may feel superior, or get a kick out of triggering someone and making them cry.

Then I think about "love" and what you said about how some kids learn by example, and at home there may be bullying, so by default, that child will act accordingly to get the attention they mistake for "love". But violence, weather physical, {emotional, verbal or psychological} is NEVER the answer. Even though, it can be effective, as an immediate solution, the repercussions are long term for both parties.

I wish people learned meditation at school as kids, I feel that meditation is a healthy solution and a beginning to teach kids to be self aware, think for themselves and to be in tune with their actions/reactions, while teaching them to take responsibility for themselves.

Thank you for writing about this topic.20170906_142953(0).jpg