Improving my life - Worst things first

in #life7 years ago
This post is also on SaesDeHonos.com

Cigarettes


In this day and age, it's common knowledge that cigarettes are bad for you, very bad. It's also a good sign that smoking cigarettes aren't considered as "cool" and trendy as they used to, as it means that there are fewer incentives for people to even try them.

If you aren't aware of the dangers of smoking cigarettes yet, you can read about the dangers of it HERE.

I think that overall I've been smoking cigarettes for over ten years with small breaks here and there. There have been a couple of times when I "successfully" quit smoking for months, but I've always fallen back on the habit, be it because of stress or whatever the reason might be at the time.

Since I've been going on and off with cigarettes, I know what to expect when you quit. That's why I've taken the precaution of buying myself a pack of nicotine gum to soften the blow.

Another option would've been vaping, which I personally have found to be the best available option when trying to quit. The problem is that my equipment is no longer working and I don't see the worth in spending 50+ euros in a new equipment that I'm only going to use few days and throw it away after that. After all, I don't intend to replace my smoking habit with vaping.

What to expect


These can differ from person to person, but the worst part of the withdrawals for me is the mental irritation. This means that I need to do my best in staying away from triggers (read: Twitter). It's not enjoyable for you or anyone else around you when you can accidentally just snap at someone.

This will also cause my body to crave greasy junk food like never before, so I'm not going to be too harsh on myself with the diet while the worst part of the rehab is going on. This for me is the most important thing to focus on at the moment, so it's on the top of the priority list, everything else is secondary.



Check out these helpful (referral) links

SteemFollower - Get more upvotes and followers

Steemfollower introduction

Grammarly - Grammar enhancer with 1 week FREE Premium

Grammarly introduction

Sort:  

I smoked for almost 20 years, tried quitting a dozen time. Champix pills worked for me. Only problem is after quitting if you hang out with your drinking and smoking buddies no matter what method you use it's easy to fall back into it fast. Good luck on quitting though! It's worth it!

I've heard that people who used Champix treatment have had a pretty high percentage of success when trying to quit, seems like a good option. I agree it can be easy to fall back into the habit if you're surrounded by people who smoke, but yeah, it's well worth it to quit.

Thanks for the support! =)

Good luck on your quest. As a former smoker, I can attest that it usually takes a smoker several attempts before they quit for good. Quitting and relapsing is better that not trying to quit at all. The last time I quit, I was very mindful of every smoke and kept track of every cigarette until the very last one. It's been over 20 years since my last cigarette.

Thank you, I appreciate the support =)

@saesdehonos Its very interesting info.. Terrific post keep it up.

this is really nice from you i like it

Ex-smoker here too, buena suerte👍🏻

Congratulations @saesdehonos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @saesdehonos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!