I QUIT my job and REINVENTED myself!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is my story. I hope it inspires you to get out there and change your life!

The story that takes me from feeling miserable in my daily routine and a job I literally hated, to being self-employed, happy, looking forward for the next day to dawn.
From dreading the moment I got to the office with pain in my stomach, to choosing when and where to show up for work.

I studied Telecommunications and Management in Greece and graduated in 2006, feels like a hundred years ago already.
I've always been into sports, used to be a gymnastics athlete and a ballet dancer for many years.

But since I don't come from a wealthy family, naturally, pursuing my real dreams wasn't an option so I had to study towards a socially accepted, well-paid profession.

OR SO I THOUGHT!
Nevertheless back then I had no idea what the Law of Attraction was or how important it is to find your OWN purpose in life and that when you do, everything else falls into place as well.
So I studied for 4 years and received my Bachelor's degree and right away I got a job in IT.
The first few years were very constructive, I liked what I did.

My position, title and income made me feel important and SMART.
Seems like I needed a job to make me feel smart and important back then.


We grow out of these things usually.
So as I was saying, my job was important enough, my family was proud of me and my parents were able to brag about their intelligent, well-paid daughter.
4-5 years later, I obviously had had my taste of all that and I started realizing how futile the things I had were.
I wasn't happy, I wasn't growing as a person, I was not in a relationship that made me happy, I didn't get along with my parents, I didn't have enough time to myself and I wasn't healthy.
But I had money and "recognition".


Where I used to work - Summer 2009


It took me no time to start hating my job after this realization. And it's not like I was forced to be there.
It was clearly my choice alone.
I was subconsciously angry at myself for not having the courage to quit.
I wanted to.
But I was telling myself that I couldn't.
I could hear my parents' voices in my head arguing my decision to quit.
Imaginary dialogues...
And more years passed by, and I became so bad at what I was doing.
I was thriving at other activities I took on that I really loved, like dancing and singing in a band.
But every day I showed up at work I was irresponsible, procrastinating, unreliable, angry and difficult to deal with.
And after 7 years I had actually started to believe that all the above were my true qualities. And that made me feel so bad, like I was a bad person. Not good at anything. And even though I knew I was smart and caring and helpful and positive, doing the wrong thing for a living almost changed the way I looked at myself for good.
BUT I was determined to not let that happen.


Where I work now


So I started taking therapy, which is the best thing I've ever done.
It took me three years to figure things out, to trace and solve my parent issues (had to work very hard for that to happen and of course this is always work in progress) and to realize that I'm not bad at what I do...
I just wasn't meant to do what do.
I realized I needed to be able to work outdoors. And I needed to do something that helps others too.
So I created a Dreamboard.
And on it I wrote:

  1. I want to study Yoga in India
  2. I want to live in California for a while
  3. I want to meet a man with whom I will experience companionship.
    The real thing, no holding back, no fear.


Graduation day


So in 2014 I used all my paid leave, and some unpaid leave too and I traveled to Mumbai, where I stayed and studied Yoga for 5 weeks. I received my first Yoga certification from The Yoga Institute, the oldest organized Yoga center in the world.

I met many wonderful people and was taught by very inspirational teachers and...
Without knowing at the time that the Law of Attraction was already working its magic, I also met my better half.
Did I mention he is from CA?
Crazy???
This world is crazy!
But it very much makes sense too.
Well this has been my life for the past 11 years or so.
And the rest is history.
I kept my job for another year and a half and together we planned our next steps.
In 2016 we moved to Los Angeles and every day ever since I thank the universe for guiding me and also myself for listening to the true voice in my head and for finding my purpose.
I can't tell you what to do and how to find the way, but if you listen all the answers are there.
That's what I have learned in my life so far.
Life is too short to waste, LIFE is too long to live it according to what others think of it or of you!
I can only share my story in hope that it will ignite something in you and make you pursue your dreams!
Thank you for reading.

Love,
SahanaYoga

Sahana_yoga_ig

Sort:  

Your story reminded me of the movie "eat pray love", life is about finding yourself out of the comfort zone I guess. Thank you so much for sharing your inspiring story. I am 21 years old, just graduated from my Uni and wondering what I want to do in life and oh man, it is hard having to manage other people's expectation of me. I hope in 10 years, I can say I didn't settled for less. Wishing all the best to you, Sahana.

Thank you @midnightviola ! It is so sweet of you to say that my story resembles that movie :-D
Yeah 21 is the best age but also very complicated...too many decisions to make.
But if you know what you don't want to do maybe that's an awesome start! I checked out your cute content and I followed you too :-* See you around!

Very true!21 is a complex age. Thanks for following back!😊

Ahhhh..yeah.."Eat pray love" exactly it reminded me that either..
and totally 21-25 are the hardest ages in knowing and accepting ourselves..but the only poison we should all avoid, is the tendency to judge ourselves in comparison with others.. i mean..we should look at ourselves as a unique individual, unique spiritual being..and no one is comparable..

There are certain things in life that need decisive action by you alone. After all your destiny is not attached to any one for that matter. You and your creator. But you have to discover yourself and your creator and what life holds for your. Glad you are happy that you have discovered where you belong. Blessings.

Exactly! Thank you for taking the time to ready my post.
Once we realize that something is wrong in our lives then the only way to get out of the situation is to face it, let focus on doing that! I will do check out your feed. Have a wonderful day @praise-eu

Way to go. Happy journey. We also decided to do something similar. Check us out when you can. :)

Thank you dear, I commented on your last post.

Thanks for sharing your story Emmy. It's very inspirational.

Emmy! (Erin here) You are an amazing woman and that dream board strategy is very real! I remember you shared some experiences from that past relationship. I think it is an important lesson because we learn what we don't like. When we are young it is easy to make a mental note of what it is that we want. For me I realized I didn't have any idea of what I didn't want in many aspects of my life until after I had that experience. LOVE you and your spirit! xoxo

Erin!!!!! No wayyyyyyyyyy I'm so happy to see you here <3<3
I remember talking to you about my ex yes and I remember your advice too...about how you should gracefully walk out of a relationship when it's not working for you anymore.
It was very helpful and it spoke to my heart. We met for a reason woman!
I hope to see you soon-before February that is-
Sending you all my love!

Congratulations @sahana-yoga, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3153 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $997.76. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thank you for the info @bitgeek!

Well done. Bless you!

Thank you my dear @johano ! For reading too :-)

The path that finds itself is always the best path in life to follow.

This is a beautiful story with a beautiful ending. I hope you can keep finding your dreams.

I appreciate your comment @pennsif ! I too hope that I will keep my eyes open and keep living life to the fullest and be aware of where I am and why. Thank you for reading :-)

This life story of yours is very inspiring! :)

Thank you @nikolina. You have some nice content too, I am following you!

Oh, thank you so much! I followed you too! :))

Bravo! It takes courage to change life like this. I've been thinking about it for a long time now, and unfortunately I'm overthinking it :-/ But time will come

Yes @herverisson it is true, it's hard. But like you said, time will come. I waited for 10 years to make my move because I didn't know myself well enough. "When I knew better I did better" paraphrasing the amazing Maya Angelou here. Have wonderful day :-)

Wow, awesome story, really takes some strength to leave behind security and comfort even when you're unhappy. It is something too few people do though, best of luck to you, look forward to future posts!

That word is Key! Comfort. And I didn't even use it in my post haha. Exactly what was happening there. My comfort zone was way too comfy to leave. But a moment comes when you can no longer be the same! For all of us, so we change.

What an inspirational story. I too quit my job but still trying to stabilize my self. I adore your vision and strength. All the best to you.

Thank you @rafi-muha. I commented on your post. Patience is gold! For all of us.

this is very bad thinks

Beautiful story! I am with you! Keep on going Everything is beautiful when you do it with love. I love photography and I try to make it as my full job you can check my photos and help me out :)

Thank you and good luck following your heart! I left a comment on your most recent post.

your story is very touchy and motivational

I appreciate your feedback @entrepreneurship !

Congratulations @sahana-yoga! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

you found your reason to present your way the best, that makes that people are proud on you with out knowing you , wishing you all the luck you need !

Thank you so much for your kind words my dear @janine-ariane <3
I feel proud of myself that's why it came off like that. Just like when I was feeling bad about myself it was pretty obvious too :D For sure! Good luck with everything you do as well. I will check out your account too!

Congratulations @sahana-yoga! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow such a motivational , inspiring story, we actually have same story,
thank you so much for sharing it lightens my mind..

Keep on posting!

LOVE
@micch

Thank you @micch ! I will check out your account too :-*

Thank you so much @sahana-yoga

Excellent post @sahana-yoga. First of all one must know what he or she wants to do and one must listen to the inner voice of oneself. Of course it is vary difficult to listen your inner voice in this chaotic world. It becomes easier if he or she starts doing YOGA. With YOGA you can calm down your mind and with a cool mind you can think in a better way. Your all the six sensing organs start working and in this state of mind you can listen to your inner voice, here you can get all the answers. For achieving this goal one has to practice MEDITATION in YOGA.

Wise words, yes. Meditation is what quiets the mind and is always helpful. I wish one day meditation is taught as part of the school curriculum as they do in some parts of India. Namaste !

I very much enjoyed your post. I also have started a new Journy and now look foraward to each new day!

Keep at it @lukedawg27 ! Thank you for reading!

The journey to self is a worthwhile journey. Reading about your experience was quite motivating and inspiring. I too left my corporate career to find something more meaningful to me. Truly igniting, thank you for sharing with us all. 😊

Thank you for taking the time to read my post @tyebrooks :-)
I'm happy to hear you are pursuing your dreams as well.
Exposing ourselves is an interesting process and we always learn a lot from it that's why I decided to share this. Hope it touches as many people as possible <3
Have a wonderful day!

i can relate to all you have generously shared. In 1989 I was a Graphic Designer working in London. I hated it and quit and have been self employed ever since. My family still think me odd and tell me I am an abject failure but my freedom is of more value to me than the opinions of unenlightened folks! Good for you - be happy and free xox

Yeah they think we are odd because we are different. Being happy is not the norm in my family either but I refuse to live my life the way they do! Way to go girl!!

It is excellent that you have found your way and that you can be happier doing that. By taking independence in what you do, and doing what you really want, things will turn out better.

Thank you @vieira. I'll check out your account :-)

Great and inspiring story!!

I wonder, as you became more atuned to yourself and your heart, do you feel like you always know what your voice is telling you to do? Do you have doubts in making desicions?

Do you think that those things only emerge as a consequence of internal resistance?

Would like your thoughts on these questions. Thanks!!

Hi @calibratedwisdom.
I would say that after the first explosion where you stop taking other people's shit and your own as well, mostly your own, you're starting to get that feeling, that if you let all the negative things accumulate again you are going to have to explode again and why let that happen right? Too much work. Once you learn your lesson, I believe there is no way to travel back in time and unlearn it so you are very much aware of what's going on. Internal resistance are the voices that are not yours, they belong to someone else (family, society, culture, religion etc) and you can tell because they are not telling you things that feel right in your gut. What I ask myself when I feel uncertain is: If I were in Ethiopia -I've never been to Ethiopia so I don't know their ways and I know they don't know mine so no expectations on either side- would I still care.
That is my thought on that.
Maybe I will write a more extensive post about this. Thank you for making me think and thank you for reading.

Thanks for an insightful comment!
It's hard sometimes to find out your true voice, because of all of the conditioning and habitual patterns that took part in us as we grew up.

I also thing that the Yoga & Meditation are best ways to go about crashing beliefs which are not base on our own will.
I'm glad I found you out, keep posting!!

nice article,
I wanted to share this story: https://steemit.com/life/@thankful.andrew/are-you-living-your-genius

also i have posted some article here:
https://steemit.com/@thankful.andrew

Feel free to visit mine,
thank you :)

I checked out your posts. Thank you for taking the time to read my post @thankful.andrew. Followed back

I think you're talking for many people! Like how many people hate their job but are too afraid to quit! You're very brave for doing that! I know how it feels like. I quit my job this year too. And my apartment and actually everything lol. And moved from Germany to the US. I wish you the best!!

Our paths are very similar indeed @lovablesoul ! I moved to the states last year. We are like sister souls in a way :-) Wish you the best as well!

haha yes !!

Hi,

Thanks for sharing your story.
First part of your story I understand it very well because right now I am on the same situation like you was.
My family material situation wasn't ok so I finished an IT university just to have an well paid job.
I am working for three years now for a big corporation where I am well payed and I have that "recognition" that you're speaking.
I was working very hard to achieve this and I got a raise and recognition but instead of being well I got also anxiety and depression.
For three months I'm taking therapy and also like you I understood that I don't like my job, I like only the "wealthy" life.
Right now I'm on the position of finding the truly things that I love to do, but is very hard to find it. Using other words, I don't know what I love.
If you can give me an advice of how did you make it, please let me know.

Thank you and congratulations :D

Hi @mdnpat ! Sorry it took me a while to get back.
Well, the first questions for me would be:
Give me 5 things that you have done in your life that felt good.
Give me 5 things you don't like doing.
Give m3 5 things you're good at. Really good at and you know it, no matter if other people agree or not.

Love your courage!

I appreciate it @hanivaz !

I love this story and I'm sorry I'm only reading it now. <3

I'm so glad you took control of your life. I remember making a similar decision but I think I am still mid transition. Definitely much happier than I used to be though, having decided to just do things that bring me joy and not to stress so much about what career I'm expected to pursue.

Oh I'm glad you got a chance to read it :-)
And also that you identify with what I am talking about. It feels like taking a step up, doesn't it? Putting yourself first is very important I agree. Not in a selfish way but in a self-loving way. Talk soon lady <3