Why do you live?

in #life6 years ago

What's the meaning of life? I only live because I'm afraid of death, I don't want to not-exist, to be no more. Other than that I don't really care about life (For example, if I believed in an afterlife, I'd have no problem in dying, and if that afterlife was a great one (eg christian) I'd even be encouraged to do it). 

For me it’s more like I’m curious to see what the future holds for us. I don’t really care about my own future, I’m more or less apathetic to what goes on around me. But scientific discoveries, technological advancements, just the general course of civilization still kind of excite me. Just enough to make me want to live out the rest of my insignificant mortal life. 

I also want to say that life is beautiful. Even looking at it from inside a shell of melancholia, it’s hard not to be awed by how much sensation there is. Just the small things like a breeze on a good day or looking at the stars and moon on a clear night, walking barefoot on grass, smoking with friends, the sound of your footsteps in an empty corridor, etc.

So, what do you think is the meaning of life? Why do you live?

Image Source

Sort:  

Personally I feel there's should be a deeper meaning to life than just existing, to every creation there's a purpose just as the couch in your sitting room serves your relaxation purpose so also everything created is to serve a purpose. True fulfillment come in realizing and working in tune with ones purpose towards humaity. That's why I live.

Great Thoughts

Thanks brother.