The daily 9-5 : Why do we work so hard? : Diary entry 03

in #life6 years ago (edited)

avocado_1050x700.jpg

Another day, another pound sterling. I bought an avocado after work so I could have it with my dinner, I came home, cooked some curry and now I'm just steeming and eating.

I find it really hard to grasp the concept of the 9-5 , heck I do a half 9 until whenever the work is complete and if I let it, it will destroy my mind. I'm a Pre-Press manager at a print and design company, I don't hate my job , I enjoy the work I'm just not passionate about it because I can't call it mine.

Every night I go to sleep and every morning I wake up thinking 'there are loop holes everywhere' , 'I can get there quicker' , 'I just need to find them' and every day, I return to the same office , go to the same Tesco's, just waiting for an idea to strike , a situation to unravel or an opportunity to come up. But what makes me so special? what makes me think that I will be one of those that makes it ? and JUST TO BE CLEAR, I mean 'make it' as in, get a mortgage, a dog , be able to go on holiday when I please - this is the existential crisis that some of us millenials are facing right now, are we not?

I just want to use this post to send out a strong force of positive energy to everyone , it's not easy, I'm routing for you.

p.s- The avocado was definitely my highlight

San x