WHAT THE F IS ART??? Chapter One: Introduction

in #life6 years ago

Is this a simple question? Or is it not that easy to answer?

I'd say it's not that easy.

The purpose of this article is inviting you to think about this, if you hadn't already.
If I manage to intrigue you with this subject, you'll have the urge to comment, and if you do...
You might win something! So keep on reading!

When we're at the museum we may find a few works of art that makes us wonder: "Is this art?"

Let's play a game: Can you guess which of this images are made by famous artists and which were made by kids?

Take this quiz, it'll only take you a minute!

Then come back, keep reading, and share your results in the comments!

Did you guess them all correctly? I bet you didn't.

Well, that's how difficult it is to come up with a concept for art that gathers:
the concept's evolution through history,
all the different styles,
and the styles yet to come.

We may need to add function as one of our considerations, even though it has a lot to do with the concept's history. Our perspective on this subject is key to the construction of a definition of art.

Let's review a few popular sentences that try to define "art" contemporary:

  1. "Art is what someone calls art" or "Art is what an artist says it is"
  2. "Everything is art"

Here are a few opinions that may come along with those affirmations:

  • "What is that supposed to mean? I don't get it."
  • "Contemporary art sucks."
  • "I could have done that myself."

Without trying to convince you from changing your opinion, if it's somehow represented in this post, I'm going to tell you a few reasons why those aren't good definitions:

  • Saying contemporary art sucks because it's elitist (meaning that only a few can understand it) is ignoring the role art has had through history: It has always been associated with prestige, because it's related to spiritual growth. Wisdom, creativity, and beauty, are qualities we admire.

This doesn't mean that only a few can enjoy it, but perhaps it means that people who are more involved with culture, will enjoy it more. Ugh, I know, it may sound bad, but it isn't. It's a long subject, maybe for another post.

  • A concept that relies on an opinion it's not stable. Also, a concept must apply to all cases.

First of all, should we consider some opinions, like for example, an art critic's opinion? Or is any opinion valid? How would this influence the art market?

If art is just what someone says it is, it would mean that an artist which work wasn't recognized during his lifetime, didn't make art. But we know that some works of art often gained their popularity long after their creator passed away.

  • YES, MAYBE YOU COULD HAVE DONE THAT. But you didn't. Contemporary art sometimes seems simple, but judging a work of art takes more than just comparing techinques, whether they are (or seem) easy.

The concept is fundamental.¨Dominating a technique is impressive, but doesn't turn it into art. So what does it?

See? I told you it's not easy!

Who decides what's art and what isn't?
What makes an object "art" is different from what makes an object attractive or appealing?
Maybe it isn't necessary to separate this qualities.
But is art a quality?
...
What the F is art?

You can go ahead and try to answer these questions in the comments!

But wait! This isn't over.

If we agree that those definitions are wrong, or at least we're doubting them, then let's go back to our considerations:
the concept's evolution through history,
all different styles,
the styles yet to come,
art's function.

I'll try to give you a concept of art that satisfies these considerations. But we'll need to explain some things in the way!

I'll post the next part each week.

Here are the subjects:
Chapter 2: A brief brief brief history of the concept of art.
Chapter 3: Art b.D. and a.D. (before Duchamp and after Duchamp)
Chapter 4: Is art dead? Contemporary art.
Chapter 5: Conclusions. (I'm pretty sure it's going to remain as an open question... And maybe that's the point!)

On each chapter I'm going to include the best comments, so go ahead! Add some value to this post with your opinions!

If I select you, in addition to promoting, I'll resteem one of your latest posts!

Thank you for reading!

Don't forget to check out #dolphinschool, you won't regret it! Click here!

Sort:  

Well, Art is the beauty of nature which comes through your brush. An artist's would be the photographer, An artist's would be the dancers , An artist's would be the chefs . which filling a space in a beautiful ways.

@sarahart your posts keep me inspired to get moving on it!!

thanks for share
keep smile always :)

Thank you @justanopinion! Our blogs may seem to have different directions, so I appreciate your interest in art.
I'm not sure if art comes from nature, maybe I like to think it comes from reason. I do agree that dancers and chefs, and people who add beauty to the world are artists in some way, but I'm focusing on visual arts only 'cause that's my department.

yeah i also agree with you :)
and thank you for your wonderful reply
stay bless N keep smile :)

This post was awesome. I loved how you really engaged us in the post with the quiz. By the way, I got 6 wrong! Lol

Thanks! I was doing it for the second time and still got some wrongs, lol. It's not easy at all... Btw, how is it going since the Bootcamp is over? I had to take some days to relax hahaha

Yea that is a tough quiz to pass! I made two small post the other day but I had to take off for a few days. I was exhausted lol How is it going for you?

I took the quiz at the beginning and got three wrong, every one of them could have been toddler art or modern art. I think art is in the eye of the artist and also the beholder. If someone expresses themselves they are valid in calling it art but those looking at it may disagree and I think that's fair too because we all have our own perceptions. Some art in itself has nothing aesthetic or beautiful but the concept is more important which definitely makes defining it a slippery thing.

Wow! You got it perfectly! That's the problem, should we just accept anything can be art or should we try to have at least some considerations?

5 wrongs, only Ritcher I was sure, the others luck. It's difficult when you see very close and only a part. Great article. I'm waiting eagerly the third article ;-)

It's not easy at all. And you're right, I couldn't find the one that had the paintings and not details of them. Thank you! I know you like Duchamp but you shouldn't miss the others hahaha

I have bad opinions about contemporary art.

In the sense that now, everybody can play to do "art" (in the previous centuries, that was a real approach and effort to do such thing as art).
Now, it is also accessible as... writing an opinion on the Internet.
See where I want to go with "bad opinion" ?
For me, very very few things of contemporary art are art.

I think most of my critic is that contemporary art just transmits (at best) a prosaic message - and not a complex and/or meaningful message.

(Deep) sense is a fondamental criteria to judge if a painting is art, or just a random person telling a random "message" that could be entirely the same with 10 ou 20 words (sometimes with 3 words, as "Sun is bright" (waouh, sun is bright).

I'm not writing more for the moment, I'll follow what you'll say in the other chapters (among other reasons, because I'll sure learn some things - and thus, I don't want to tell too much stupidities or pretentious things).

(and that's not because I'm offended having had "5 out of 11 right") (in fact, absolutely no : I'm not offended at all) (unless you could make me change my mind with the following I'll read in the other chapters).

Hi, @christower! Thank you for your comment. Here's my humble reply:

That being said, I can't let you get away with it, lol. I'm going to ask you a few questions:

  • Which works of art aren't prosaic to you? Give me some examples so I can compare them to contemporary art the way you're seeing it! Some examples of "prosaic message art" will be useful too.
  • Why is art being accessible a bad thing?
  • What is art to you?

I agree, the conceptual part of the piece is very important. But I don't think there should be a limited list of subjects art can speak about. I think meaning and complexity can be found in everydayness (that's what philosophy is all about, in my opinion). And this isn't contradictory with art expressing deep ideas that are hard to put in words, because they reach every aspect of our lives and are, sometimes, recognizable in the most simple things. Like the idea of beauty in a simple flower.

I think that the fact that we're more connected than ever thanks to technology and globalization, and it seems we're surrounded by artists and aspiring artists... It's not effortless though. It never is. Unless of course your mom is a famous gallerist and sells anything you make or something like that.

Your results on the test are actually pretty good, haha. Half of the questions right? C'mon! I saw you read the second chapter, thanks! I'm glad your willing to continue on this journey with me, I hope I can change at least some of those bad opinions. Don't get me wrong tho, I'm not saying I like every work of contemporary art I see, I often think they're just not enough too. But I respect them based on my dislike being just an opinion, which is ok, but not everyone is going to share it and doesn't have to.

Loading...