How My Puppy Dogs Make a Big Impact!

in #life7 years ago

I want my first real post to share about my life so my new Steemit friends can get to know me even better. Hopefully, it’s also interesting and has some entertainment value as well!

I want to share about how my puppy dogs make a big impact in my life.

I recently found out that the church I have been attending for the past 3 yrs in closing it’s doors.

WOW, right!?!

I can only imagine what you might be thinking - That's strange. How does that even happen?

Ya, I understand.

Trust me when I say that it’s complicated and I could write a whole book trying to explain it. The reason I have so much to say about it is that I also work for the church as the head of operations and administration.

Ya….sigh…

When I was told that the elders decided to close the doors, I found out that I lost my church home, my ministry and my job all at the same time.

My friends and family have certainly been supportive and helpful during this time.

My dogs, Duke and Tex, also deserve a special recognition. They have taught me some valuable things lately about how to be supportive. Here are my pups!


Duke and Tex
Image Source


Duke (on the left) and Tex (on the right)


My dogs, who I affectionately refer to as my puppy dogs even though they are not puppies, have made such an impact in my life recently. Dogs are truly unique creatures and in many instances live up to their title “man’s best friend”.

It might seem silly or ridiculous but I’ve come to rely on them as I deal with the many phases of grief and loss. They are just enjoyable to be around :)


Here are 3 ways my pups have helped me!

#1. They are always available and accepting of me.

No matter what, Duke especially, wants to be around me. He always responds (looks at me or comes into the room) when I talk to him.


Duke and Tex cudling
Image Source

They just want to hang out with me…

Tex at work
Image Source

...don’t mind helping me with my work...

Yoga dogs
Image Source

...and they are super supportive of things l like to do, such as yoga!

#2. They have a unique understanding of me

I think our dogs might be our biggest fans. They spend a lot of time waiting for us, waiting on us and watching what we do. I don’t know about all the other dogs out there but mine can often anticipate what I’m going to do next. (Mostly, they're hoping it has something to do with going outside or getting them a treat!)


Duke and Tex begging
Image Source

Here they are, begging for whatever I have in my hand!

#3. They are cute and silly, which helps distract me from over-focusing on my struggles


Duke is so silly
Image Source


Duke thinks he’s king of the hill!


Tex and the pink jacket
Image Source


Tex may love my pink jacket almost as much as me


I've learned that being available and accepting, seeking to understand, and helping during times of need are all great attributes in a friend. I know that I would be a much better friend to those around me if I practiced these attributes more often!

My puppy dogs have a big impact in my life!

What about you? What ways is your pet your friend? What are some of the cute, silly or wild things about your pet that you just love?!

Thanks!
Sarah


Sarah


Created by Sarah Paine

Follow me @sarahpaine and check out what my Husband Michael, aka @strangerarray, is up to!

Sort:  

Sorry about your church. Duke and Tex are cute. What great pictures of them. My pup Rocket travels with me and the inspiration behind my blog.

What a great picture of Rocket...such a beautiful dog! I love that your pup is the inspiration behind your writting. I'll check out your blog. Thanks!