One Year as a College Graduate – A Reflection

in #life6 years ago

One year ago today, I graduated from college.

IMG_0063.JPG

Now THAT’S a weird sentence. One year? It still seems like only yesterday I was starting my freshman year. Now I’ve officially completed my first year as an “adult” in the “real world”.

Seeing photos of so many of my friends graduating yesterday brought back lots of memories for me. My college years brought some of the best people into my life, and provided some incredible memories that I’ll never forget. There are many things I miss about college – getting to set your own schedule, sleeping in as late as you want most days, not having to cook or worry about going to the grocery, living within walking distance of all your friends, etc.

However, I’d be lying if I said I wanted to go back to college. Because the person I am right now is a very different, and better, person than the one who graduated last year.

This year has been one of the most challenging and rewarding years of my entire life. James and I packed up everything we owned and moved to a brand new state, away from most of our family and friends and the home where we’d spent our entire lives. Over the course of the year, I’ve lived in two apartments, worked in two jobs, acquired two miniature dachshunds, been on two incredible vacations and, most importantly, changed my last name and married the man of my dreams.

I’ve grown stronger, more assertive, more ambitious and hungrier in the past year. I have goals and aspirations, and I have newly acquired skills, both in my personal and professional life. And I’ve never been more excited for the future and what lies ahead.

I thank my alma mater for giving me the tools to become the young professional I am today.

Here’s to the first year as an alum, and the many, many more that are to come!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sarahsmith! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!