Why Don't We Follow The Advice We Give To Others?

in #life6 years ago

silhouette-1082129_1280.jpg

Getting into problems in life is as common as life itself. Sometimes it feels like life is just a quest to solve as many problems as you can because that's all everyone ever seems to be doing!

Fortunately we are not alone in all of this and can rely on the suppport of friends and family when we run into a road block. Naturally we do the same when they are in need of any help as well.

This got me thinking the other day. We all seem to be expert advisors when it comes to helping our loved ones. Looking back at all the excellent advices that I have ever given, I realised that I would have been much better off in every way possible, if I had taken heed of my own words!

Luckily I found out that I was not the only one doing this. Almost everyone has this tendency to lay out words of wisdom when it comes to other people but when the time comes, they don't follow the same themselves!

Why Is That So?

adventure-1807524_1280.jpg

Of course any sane person would ask why we do so. I mean, if we can benefit from anything at all, we would use it, right? Especially to solve all the darn problems that seem to crop up out of nowhere, continuously.

Why is it then that we don't do it more often, or in my case, ever! I did some introspection and I think I know why. It takes little effort to give out advices but takes a lot of effort to follow them.

The saying "easier said than done" might apply here. Excluding the really big obstacles or complicated issues, I think we all know the solutions to our plethora of tiny problems but we might just be too lazy to go through with it.

I mean, everyone knows how to be healthy and fit, but how many of us actually follow a strict diet plan and exercise daily or do the 10 other things that we are supposed to do to remain healthy? Only a small percentage, I guess.

What To Do About It?

question-mark-3255140_1280.jpg

It's one of those things where to solve one problem, we need to solve the underlying problem first. Look at us. More problems to solve! Didn't I tell you in the beginning that this is the default settings of life?

Well anyways, getting back to the point. I think the underlying issue is that we lack discipline and that might apply to any area of your life that might not be working as you would like.

I mean, everything takes effort. Even doing something you love, like eating a pizza! So, if we could all just get a little more disciplined and put away our hesitations, laziness, procrastinations, or whatever else, I think we could all achieve a lot more.

Why? Because we are the best advice givers on the planet, each one of us. We just need to listen to our own selves and bring to practise what we preach to others.

Sort:  

We like to learn the hard way by experiencing the pain of the mistake before we learn lol

haha that's true! It's always the hard way we learn things.

Being mindful is a trait which is very much needed and gives you better understanding and clarity before you decide to go for something but few things just come from experience.

This is so true! When it comes to giving life advises to others, we are so confident. And when it comes to our own self, we behave like others, getting disappointed, losing patience, indulging sadness and getting into all panic.

That's exactly right!! Totally agreed.

excellent friend You have my support. I hope to count on your support to keep growing. regards

good advice, I agree what you say, people can give advice but very few people follow what has been counseled to others

Just one line for this:

The solution of a problem is always a problem itself!
-Mark Manson.

Bottomless glass?

Want to know you are so, today many people are smart, even more advise others, but his words are not in accordance with his words even he himself did not do according to words, worldly

It is easy for us to speak and point to the others than to us

nice article sir !! Big fan of yours ..
UPVOTED :P

bwahahahahahahahahah!!!

follow and upvote me sir @komal
thank you !!

Already did :P
You're welcome !!

Hi Saurav!

You have made a perfect point to look into. We tend to solve the problems of others as soon as we get to know them and start giving our expert advices. We rarely follow any of those ourselves. And yes! It does take a lot of effort to get out of the comfort zone and start doing things for ourselves. But as far as I have seen in my entrepreneurship journey, it is that easy to do as well. Discipline will come when we will start doing it. But at the first place, that first step, that first effort is utmost required and that can only be done if we are self-motivated. That motivation within to take that first step is very much required. Nothing can push us if we don't start pushing ourselves. I had been doing some research on the same and I found this little trick which works for me though (it requires a bit of courage though).

The 5-Second Rule.
Whenever we wanna do something and we don't have enough motivation to get up and do it, count backwards in the head 5-4-3-2-1 and do it. Do it before your brain starts thinking and giving reasons of not doing it.

I hope this works for all. It did work for me whenever I was stuck.

By the way, I must say it's a great post and of course a good observation.
Looking forward to further great posts.

You bring up an excellent point. It's about that first step and that's what I meant when I said we lack discipline. I guess, you are right and that comes with time as we learn to keep taking those first steps without hesitation.

Thanks for the 5 second rule. I will be sure to apply this the next time I feel like I am stuck. Thanks for reading and welcome to steemit :)

I'm glad it was aligned to your thoughts and hope that the 5-Second Rule will work perfectly for you.

Cheers!

You are very much right and this is the bitter truth of today's life. Our mind is so tricky that always wants us to remain in comfort zone. So I think we should always listen to our inner voice and work upon that.
Have a great day.

Yeah, very important to break through that comfort zone. It won't lead you far if you choose to stay there. We all need to have the courage and break out of it and as you say, listen to the inner voice.

People come out of that comfort zone only when they are forced under some situations that may be anything

It requires one's brain to be wired a specific way. Magic happens outside the comfort zone and not in the comfort zone. One needs valuable insights, great experiences, proper training and an inspiration to get over it.

This happens because we always fear from getting hurt or do that extra effort and that's why our mind try to protect us. Hard things are hard. Hard things need effort to put in. It requirement commitment which most of the people don't want because of their so called other commitments which are nothing but the excuses of running away and prevent themselves from the efforts that it take. It has its own biological reasons as well which would be difficult here to explain.
The moment one feels that there would be an additional effort or there would be something that one might get hurt from, the brain sends signal to the body to stop it from happening by giving all the reasons of why you shouldn't do it. And that happens either because of our own bad experiences in the past or experiences that we have heard of.

Loading...