What is your biggest FEAR???

in #life7 years ago

pinky floydy.jpg

 I'm sure everyone has either been asked this question or pondered it themselves at some point. I think about it often, and haven't ever been able to come up with a good answer. Common answers are heights, drowning, failure, etc. I think I have found the answer that really suits my biggest fear. 

My biggest fear is regret. In my humble opinion, regret is the most vicious, long lasting fears a person could experience. This is due to the fact that you don't feel regret right away, but later on in life when you are unsatisfied or even on death's door. I can't tell you the number of elderly relatives I have that speak on their regrets all the time, and it really made me think about my current situation in life.

I have things that I either regret doing or not doing already in my short 20 years on this Earth. Thankfully, they haven't had a large impact on my life. However, I am scared to death that one day, in my 80's, I will look back at what could have been. To help alleviate this fear, I have been going out of my comfort zone a lot lately. Part of that has been looking for a new job, taking more challenging courses at university, trying to make new friends, and even joining Steemit.

Of course it is very easy to worry too much about regrets, even to the point of regretting later on in life having worried so much about regrets (that is regret-ception ladies and gentlemen). So how do you avoid this paradox? Well, I think I may have come up with a possible answer. That is, to go out of your comfort zone as often as you can, do things that scare you, try your hardest in everything you do, and if that doesn't get you where you want to be, it is okay. When you are in the latter years of your life, if you truly did everything you could to try your best, you have nothing to regret.

I included the Pink Floyd photo because their song Time really made me think about this.

Cheers

here is that song

Sort:  

Congratulations @searchfortruth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!