Comedian Tom Segura "Offends"

in #life6 years ago

MY COMMENT: First understand that I currently live in Lafayette, Louisiana, and I was born and raised in the state of Louisiana. I have an extensive Cajun heritage and I am surrounded by the largest percent of Cajun/Acadian descendants in the United States.

THAT BEING SAID....

PER ARTICLE: A lot of Cajuns are upset with the latest Netflix special from comedian Tom Segura.
Segura's latest standup special, "Disgraceful" describes his comedy as "bearded, bawty, and bitter," but some South Louisianian's are describing it as straight up rude.
The reason? A joke he told about an encounter he had while visiting Lafayette, LA.
tom segura netflix 2018 main.jpg
Image Source Netflix
Continue Reading....
Source

MY COMMENT: This is just the latest in an ongoing string of incidents involving stand up comedy where a certain group is offended when the joke train passes in front of their house. My fellow Cajuns have called into local radio shows to complain about the remarks made towards our community by Tom Segura (IN A COMEDY SPECIAL). I can personally say I was not offended by Segura's remarks, but I am not here to say that nothing should ever be offensive. I am not here to call anyone a snowflake, or a PC zombie, etc. WHAT I WILL SAY IS THAT BEING OFFENDED IS ALMOST ENTIRELY A SELFISH FEELING. Not one caller called in to complain about the jokes Tom Segura made about midgets, the mentally disabled, homosexuals, etc. in that very same stand up routine. This is often the case, where everything is funny or fair game until it is about something you are emotionally tied to, then it becomes out of bounds. Shocker: Cajuns can't stand being called swamp people, parents of the mentally disabled can't stand the word retarded, the obese don't want to hear fat jokes, and vegans can't stand watching me eat steak. All the while laughing at the others. I believe this attitude extends outside of stand up comedy. In our everyday lives we examine things based on how it immediately makes US feel, rarely taking the time to discover context or examining someone else's thoughts or intentions.

Just my brief take.