Open Your Mind to New Things

in #life7 years ago

I was born in North Omaha Nebraska. Being from North Omaha we kinda just lived by one mindset.. Mostly African American in the northern section of Omaha. There Black people chilled with black people and when we did we did black shit. We ain't para sailing, going on ski trips, or doing keg stands for shit. I was raised this way.... In 2003 I graduated high and immediately joined the military.


This brought all kinds of walks of life to me. People from New York, Alabama, the Philippines, European, Middle Eastern, etc. All this changed my out look on life...All these people brought a new outlook and thought process.. This was way before the popularity of social media so back then you had to take the time to TALK TO PEOPLE in order to learn their story in stead of reading a brief profile summary.

I started liking rock music, my first time doing a beer funnel or playing drinking games was with the military. During a deployment my room mate would be considered an EMO type.. Turned out to be one of the funniest most interesting people I know. I knew of different religions like Muslim and Islam but I got to work and live with people that LIVED IT. Learned to respect those beliefs despite them being different from my own.

My wife is From Small town USA. Also from Nebraska but more of that country life style.. With here my horizons broaden even more. Black people we don't water. We once Went to the Bahamas and they had a wind sailing boat we could rent... I cant swim but my wife wanted to do it... She pushed me to try something new and I did.. It was a scary but very enjoyable experience..

From that, it opened me to sky diving, tubing (getting skull dragged by a boat basically), and even going to my first ever Rock Festival. (She took me to a Chicago Bulls game.. So I took her to see her favorite bands). Thought I would be the only black person there and it would be hell.. Turned out to be fun as fuck.. Everyone was so nice and welcoming. The entire weekend was nothing but fun.

My point, open up your world. Try to learn something new about someone that maybe you wouldn't normally get to know. Try a new activity... The world is to wide open to close 90% of it off....

Sort:  

Awesome post. Small world Ive been to the u of nebraska omaha a couple of times.

Amazing experience @seymourbucks!
Well written and shared with the intention of helping other fellow brothers. What's not to Love about that?

Upvoted (with my 0.01 cent unfortunately xD) and Followed. Hope to see more of you around Steemit :)