Selfless...Not Me.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

unknown-2.png

Last weekend when we were coming back from a family get together. My husband took all of us for an ice-cream treat. I always think of curbing unnecessary expenditure and as a selfless person who is too much in love, I always chose to sacrifice my own likings and it didn't even feel like a sacrifice.

I am a woman of very few needs/wants and desires. So, when my husband asked each one of us to choose our flavour, I responded as usual," I won't have any".

My husband and brother- in - law enjoyed one round and when the boys ordered another my husband asked me again but my response remained the same"I don't want any". Actually, I am not too fond of ice-cream. Late night when I was removing my make-up and accessories my husband came inside and started helping me (which he normally don't do). He looked at me and said, "Please don't do this to yourself and to us. I want a happy wife, not a sacrificial lamb. Too much sacrifice is not healthy. You see, after a period of time, yourself and your family will stop asking you for your choice and that day onwards you will feel miserable and unimportant. You will think that we don't care but we would be behaving naturally.

So I would suggest that you always take your share, not in food only but in everything. That will be good for all of us".By the time my makeup and accessories have been removed by both of us and my husband said: You look so beautiful naturally".

His lecture made sense to me and I couldn't help thinking about my Mother-in-law who always complained," I did so and so for so and so but today they don't even care ".I also remembered many instances where my Father- in- law would turn back and say," But why did you do so much? Did we ask you for it? You did it because it made you happy. It's your fault! Don't blame us for anything.

That day I realize selfless is nothing but self-sacrifice and I won't sacrifice.

Thanks for reading.

DQmQNMWmzRUGrDj7v3ozS5m9fofupmxNMMBmyG3BYkTcJvZ_128x128.jpg
DQmRaPVTBsZqGoq2R7EaVcREQCiYtozhgybCVmFwS1JQ7mm_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Very well written and you have beautifully expressed the problems of a housewife in the joint family. I have seen a lot of improvement in your writing... Carry on babes, You gotta go a long way.

I am glad you liked it.Your appreciation means a lot to me.

This post has received a 1.03 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @shagungupta.

Hey @shagungupta, Congratulations !!! We just upvoted your post with 13.16% power. Keep up the good work. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Shagun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Women is women, always they delighted when their belongs are happy