WHAT SHOULD I POST: How I got into Steemit and became a Better Version of Myself

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I have challenged myself these past few weeks to actively post and engage every day here on Steemit as well on our SteemPh Iligan Community. As of now, there are over 160 Iligan Steemians and I try to help whenever I could to new-comers. To nurture and build each and everyone to make our community stronger than ever.

Today, I was suppsed to post my first entry for Steemit Openmic but failed to do a collaboration with @xyza at the moment because our schedule would not meet. She is the guitarist while I "aheem" will be singing. Because our openmic is postponed. Now, I am out of ideas what to post next.


Photo source

Then, How about my Steemit Journey!?

Since the Steemit Community and our SteemPh Iligan Community is growing, why not share some words of wisdom and inspire a little, to never ever give up and build a good reputation, to reach your goals.

I joined last September 2017 and was only active until November of the same year because of mismanagement of my time, I am a graduating student currently doing a thesis study. I know that should not be an excuse but I got caught up with it that I didn't have any time for Steemit (and I regretted it).

My current reputation is at 55 and has 396 followers who are all AWESOME! Thanks to everyone who supported me especially to my greatest influencer, @asbonclz, for mentoring me and guiding me all throughout my Steemit Journey. I always look up to you and I am so proud of you!

How I got into Steemit

I was actually skeptical at first when my brother told me about Steemit. I was hesitant to join because I had no idea what it was. But, he explained further that it's just as simple as getting paid for writing good content articles. I got really curious and interested because I always wanted to write (even though I consider myself not a writer) stories or anything that I am a fond of.

I remember telling @asbonclz "Being able to write and get people rapt is already a win for me, the rewards will be a bonus!"

I always try to post something sensible and share my own experiences, hobbies, talents, and my growing love for photography and art.

My first ever article The Science of Happiness: How can the Food we eat affect our Emotions was a great shock for me, I didn't expect anything because I was new then.

It was rewarded generously and earned a stunning $98.39. I was super happy and motivated to even write more because somehow, I have reached readers! Things that I haven't slightly imagined in my entire life because I don't consider myself a good writer rather just a very talkative person (lol).

I am an Environmental Engineering student and wanted to disseminate information and awareness about our Ozone layer with my article The Depletion of Stratospheric Ozone and its destructive effects of Life on Earth.

It also reached people and even the curation guild @curie. I researched intensively to make my article worth reading. This was the time that I write articles up to 4 days before I post them to make sure I am writing good contents which can easily be comprehended and understood.

BUT, things had changed for me later since examinations, school projects, and requirements flooded! Because of it, I couldn't focus on my articles to post on Steemit. I had to choose what I am going to prioritize. Then I made a choice, I will put my study first but still try to compensate on my posts on Steemit and posted below 500-words articles like The Science of Everything#1: What is your Gut telling You?.

And didn't get as much as before because I haven't put so much effort anymore. I try as much as possible but I was not able to manage my time correctly. My following posts got about 0.5$ rewards and even 0.07$. I was slowly getting unmotivated and uninspired. Then, our thesis proposal was coming and all of us has to prepare for it, worked for it during our spare time so I made a decision to have a break on my Steemit Journey.

I only posted my noob photography entries later December 2017 (which I now have grown a fond of!) and only get 0.27$. I know I should be posting good content but didn't. I was also handicapped by no internet connection at home in our province in Zamboanga del Sur, so I just took the chance to have a break from anything to regain myself from my continuous failures.

Then, a realization came to me, I didn't come here for the rewards but to express my self effectively and develop my writing skills and talents. To gain friends and hope to talk about relevant topics and exchange opinions on things that matter.

So, I came back hard! Early January I posted an article about my new beginnings in life on Page 1 of 365: New Year - The Start of New Beginnings. When I posted this, I said to myself that "I will manage my time, do the things that make me happy and continue my Steemit Journey! I will be actively participating in our Community and as much as possible put effort and post sensible articles!" I also became more persistent in getting those amazing photography shots!

This year 2018 will be my year! I have experienced ups and downs that helped me become stronger. I learned my lessons, taught that consistency, effort, and engagement are the keys, build a new and better version of myself.

I believe that my greatest enemy is myself only and that I don't have to surpass anyone but rather my self.

I often ask "Who are you gonna be today?" and answers loudly, "I am gonna be a Winner!"

To my Fellow Steemians,

Everything you need, to accomplish your goals is already in YOU. It doesn’t matter how slowly you go as long as you do not stop. Just keep going and be passionate about it. Read and study the @curie upvoted posts, @ocd's featured posts, as well as @steemstem. Join contests and engage with other Steemians! Be consistent and always post quality contents. Be active in your community - Participate! And then Reach your GOAL.

I hope I have inspired you a little and fueled the fire within you.

THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY!

Sort:  

Wow... thank you for your awesome and inspiring story. People can see your true feelings and journey on the steem. It's also about making smart comments. I have seen many people making smart comments and get paid a lot of money. Reading is twice more important than writing. We have 2 ears and only 1 mouth.

You're right! Engaging with other Steemians as well as commenting on their posts is a great help. To broaden your knowledge, one should read too. Thank you very much! :)

My first month was terrible! I also quit but have perceived and still Steeming now.

You have done so well! AJA!

Thank you @maverickinvictus. Here we are, still steeming! Hehe

This reminds me of how happy I was on my first curie upvote. Feels heaven!

I miss @curie hahahahaha wala pakoy topic nga gnahan isulat gyud. lisud kaau mangita

Taas na sad kayo syag standards sa mga rep 55+.. Sad life.. haha

I will forever be grateful for meeting you @shairanada! Your support for beginners like I am is unfathomable!

Thank you gel. Whenever I can help, I will.

I can see by just reading this that you really step outside from the norms you used to be in and made so much adjustments to yourself. Every experience makes you grow. That is how characters are built. Keep going, you're doing great! 😊

Thank you @patttyyy! The support I’m getting from my @steemph and @steemph.iligan family is one of the reasons why I’m even more motivated. 😊

Then, a realization came to me, I didn't come here for the rewards but to express my self effectively and develop my writing skills and talents. To gain friends and hope to talk about relevant topics and exchange opinions on things that matter.

you nailed it! rewards are enticing but it is the camaraderie that will make us stay for longterm :D

Hey! congrats in advance! I didn't know that you're still a student. hapit na human klase so more time for steemit na hahaha

Hahaha sa May pa mahuman among klase man, so utong lang sa ko. Kayahon!