You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let Giving Be Incentivized By Receiving: An Experiment Inspired By @valblomqvist & @wanderingdanish

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey @denmarkguy Thank you for your support. It means a lot to me personally and immensely contributes to the cause of spreading some goodness across the planet.

This is just an experiment, so couldn't add too many conditions, and in any case I personally don't like to add too many caveats to whatever I offer for the good of community. I think trust not only begets trust, it conquers untrust. So I always begin with trust no matter how untrustworthy someone's reputation is, and I've seen it work most of the time. And, if someone disrespects my trust, it his loss not mine, because losing a few bucks makes hardly any difference to me, but he forever kills the opportunity to gain from my trust.

But you are right, if this experiment works, at some point, we have to clearly define the rules.

Thanks again for your support.
Cheers :)

Sort:  

Sorry if I came off a bit heavy handed there!

I'm very much onboard with the whole idea of Steemit as the basis for a "gift economy" as @stellabelle wrote about, many many months back. Because of the way rewards here work, this is an ideal "training ground" in the principles of giving and "paying it forward." Agreed, there should be trust!

Anyway, you have a new follower and I will keep an eye on things here as they unfold!

Not at all my dear @denmarkguy. You have a good heart, and good hearts can't be heavy handed. I perfectly understand that unregulated human behavior tends to go astray. But then as long as giving is incentivized by receiving something, I believe most with conscience will not take a bite from a slice that's meant for the one who's impoverished and hungry. If you read my Tears of Joy post on @valblomqvist's voluntary gesture sharing SBD rewards with hungry kids, you will what I am saying.

Thanks one more time for your support :)

In a direct connection to our talk in the other thread I'll be hosting a give away "contest" one of these coming days, sharing some of the reward I received from @sharonomics from those comments.
I was thinking of "needy" in that context as those accounts on steemit that struggles to be recognized and get attention, despite having real "quality" content.
Obviously, talking about the real needy people outside steemit, but who can be helped somehow by steemians, is a whole other matter that I hadn't really thought about. Though, it really opens up a lot of possibilities to reach out, even outside steemit.

Will be interesting to see how your rules and definitions will be shaped in the future.

OK good @wanderingdanish. You got another $3+ upvote in my previous post and two $3+ upvotes on this one. That totals to about $10 in rewards. I guess that's plenty of incentive to spread the goodness around.
Cheers :)