The Backpacker's Travel Series: Life in Los Angeles (Video)

in #life6 years ago (edited)


(An original by me)

I made this video specifically to higlight what it feels to walk around downtown Los Angeles. I urge everyone to explore the beauty that can be found in LA if only you take your time and embrace her beauty.

DSC_8379.jpg

As some of you may know, I’m an avid traveler. I’ve lost track of cities I’ve been to around the world. Despite my exposure to other vibrant cities, Los Angeles will always be mine.

I’ve fallen in love with other cities like Chiang Mai, Barcelona, Florence, and New York, but Downtown Los Angeles has an allure unlike any other. When you walk the rugged streets of Los Angeles, it’s like an amalgam of the new and the old. The bustling archaic architecture reminiscent of noir films from the 40’s and 50’s to the modernized structures slowly enveloping the old. If you walk around downtown, you’ll notice true diversity – a representation of every race from all cultures. There is unity in the small city of LA, but what makes it different from other cities is the fact that they keep their culture. You will see all sorts of cultural influence throughout the stalls, paintings, graffiti, and language.

I believe this is what makes my beloved city special. I feel comfortable and I feel comfortable for others too. I don’t worry about discrimination as much whenever I’m walking the streets. Although there is grime and crime, what city doesn’t? Los Angeles is a welcoming city built by a diverse community. I will always love my city even though I leave her quite often.

Sort:  

never been to LA, but this video with this music makes me want to