Eating Aggressively for Weight Maintenance and Muscle Gain

in #life7 years ago

I believe this is the first time I’ve ever tracked my eating with the express purpose of not losing weight. I experience compulsive overeating coupke with anorexia. For the last several months, I’ve been following a ketogenic diet (high fat, moderate protein, very low carb). The main goal was to reverse my ADHD. That happened in the first three days and has been an incredible motivator to keep at it. I can’t tell you how amazing it is to be able to think!

My brain is so happy!😊😊😊

A loose goal was to lose weight. I have been more concerned with strength and fitness than weight. Nevertheless, the constant fullness of the keto way of eating result in the loss of about 30 pounds over six months. I have also gained significant strength, energy and self-confidence.

I don’t want to lose any more weight. My dream for myself is to maintain the size I am at by continuing to CrossFit four days a week, begin to supplement with accessory strength training, and aggressive eating for muscle gain.

I started trying to add the necessary 700 calories into my diet yesterday. I can say it was fun but not necessarily comfortable. Also, I was unable to meet my goals. It looks something like this:

image
My lunch.

Yep, that’s mayonnaise. Keto eating primes the body to burn fats preferentially over carbs. If I had doubled that mayo I might have met my daily fat goal, but I also might have been really grossed out. LOL

I still have fat to lose for health and comfort, but I hope to stay the size I am while replacing it with muscle. I am doing this by increasing calories and having a handful more carbs per day.

I am now in the best shape (and size) I’ve been since age 12. It’s a very weird feeling. Like the clocks have turned backward. I’m enjoying it.

Do you have any health goals or successes to share?

Sort:  

wow .. your lanch is so amazing...
@emonnaim01

It really was both delicious and satisfying, and it was all reheated leftovers from dinner the noght before!

It's not much of a success but I have stopped binge eating chocolate at night and I've joined the gym :)

Those are two HUGE successes! Well done you!

Thank you! I guess I need to get more body positive :)

I am on the other spectrum. I am trying to gain weight and keep it. 😅

Good job @shawnamawna

Eating quickly becomes a job! I’ve been trying to hack my day on MyFitnessPal to meet nutritional goals and just can’t seem to hit that calorie mark.

Way to go!! Now that the semester is over I'm looking forward to adding working out back into my days and hopefully keep at it after classes start up again in January.

it’s such a good add!