Beating Depression in 5 steps!

in #life7 years ago


Let me start by telling you a bit about me.

I am the epitome of depression. My depression started as a child and never really stopped. I've had times when I didn't 'feel' depressed, but it has always been there. The good times allowed me to hide my depression -- even from myself. Feeling 'good' doesn't mean there's no depression. All I had to do was look at what I didn't want to do; wash dishes, sweep the floor, send an email, make a phone call, meet a friend, get up and go to work, and so forth. Even though I felt happy and upbeat, there were always signs there.


Doctors never helped. I tried counselling, anti-depressants, change of lifestyle, and change of diet. Nothing really helped. My brain is just plain wired for depression. Sometimes debilitating depression to the point where I can't sleep, won't eat, rarely shower, and just plain want to remain in bed. Not sleeping, just laying down.


So, this post (or series of posts) is to help me -- and hopefully you or someone you know.



Step 1

Do something small that needs to get done. What is it? Take the garbage out? Clean the litter box? Do the dishes? Do something small and quick that's the mot important. Today, for example, I cleaned the litter box. It took five minutes, but two days overdue. It's not the cats' fault I feel like this, so I had to get it done.

Whatever it is that's quick but important, just get it done. When you're looking at something that needs to get done, it makes you more depressed, which makes you want to do less, which makes you more depressed. Vicious circle. 


Step 2

Realize anti-depressants are not the answer and could potentially be harmful. Recent evidence shows that some anti-depressants can cause memory issues, deeper depression, and addiction to anti-depressants.

I became severely addicted to a certain type of anti-depressant. The addiction is very real, just like alcohol, cigarettes, and street drugs are. It has been about two years since I have taken anti-depressants, but I still have the addiction.


Step 3

Fruits can be fantastic to help with depression. 

I enjoy eating blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, bananas, some apples, and grapes. Somehow, fruits can help with a feeling of well-being. When I eat fruits, it gives me a feeling of excitement and more clear thinking.


Step 4

Exercise definitely helps. Getting out to a favorite place and exercising will help give your brain a dose of natural serotonin (the brain's own "happy drug").

I enjoy getting out into the bush; a nature trail or just a walk through the bush. I like to get away from people.


Step 5

Research what vitamins, minerals, and fats the brain uses as "food". Olive oil (Extra virgin, first cold pressed), Omega Fatty Acids from fish, Ginseng, and other "fats" help the brain and possibly cognitive ability. Protein and natural sugars also helps. All step 5 I learned from a certified Doctor of Natural Medicine (which is the same as a typical medical doctor in Canada).

I created a recipe for a "brain juice" as I called it years ago. It had fats, fatty acids, vitamins, and much more. It tasted horrible, but improved my cognitive ability by 300 - 500% in a few short days! My thoughts became very clear, my memory improved considerably, and my IQ went up probably by 20. I was able to reach my full potential!


Conclusion

This post has already helped me a bit with my depression. I took my dog for a walk, cleaned the cats' litter box, ate some berries we picked a week ago, and had a health drink mix from a packet. Now it is my hope this post helps you too. Regardless whether you suffer from chronic depression or occasional spurts, I'm sure there's something here you can use to help you.


Shawn Blanchette