You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FINDING THE WILL TO CHANGE - IS MOTIVATION A THING?

in #life7 years ago

Some time ago I read about a psychological study. It was a study about motivation. They found you're far more likely to complete a big task if you take a small portion of that big task and make a goal to complete that.

For example, you need to clean your house and it's going to take three hours. So you set a much smaller goal like "I'm going to put these dishes away in the next five minutes."

This small initial goal, as it turns out, goes a long way when it comes to getting your house cleaned. Much like you were saying about taking one step at a time.

Sort:  

That's exactly my experience. If one can't leap into the unknown, then take baby steps instead. I use this in my practice too by setting individual goals with my clients each month. It has been a successful approach for them and for me personally.

This was a really good video. You could definitely have a successful vlog.

Resteemed to 800+ Steemians

Wow! Thank you so much for the resteem. Your ability to reach Steemians exceeds mine, so I really appreciate your support! Videos still shy me out a bit, but I'm planning to create more of them. Leaping into the unknown.....