What happen to the money you lend to homeless

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I have seen increasing sights of homeless over the couple of years. They are fallen to this category due to debt, depression, anxiety, drugs or being homeless also a job. Whichever the case mostly they tried to earn few coins from you with various methods.

Recently my friend asked me a question while seeing me donate to homeless. "Shiro do you know where they spend your money" . I said sure they going to eat something from it or buy some essentials they needed. He told me "they going to buy drugs dude. Don't lend them money". I just brushed it off with him but later on I really thought is it worth giving them a penny?

Answer turn out to be not so simple as that. First of all we have to consider 2 aspects. Reason for giving and reason for asking. Let's first talk about why ask? Sure enough most of homeless people don't do jobs. Either they are too depressed to do it or no one give them jobs. And so still they have to live. Eat cloths some living expenses for shelter are all required money. Sure enough some ask money because of drugs and alcohol.

What about the people who giving. Well people who give with the thought of either empathy or as a good deed or for both. Now the question is whether homeless benefits from it or they used the money for bad deeds. Well the most conclusive answer I can provide is yes. They surely benefit from your money. They eat from your money and they shelter from your money. Even though very limited are used it for drugs, they still need to eat also what most important is not what they spend it for but our thoughts of expecting this man eat today due to my contribution. If they do drugs then that's on them. They earn sins as well as bad health.

So my conclusion is please provide whenever we can help. Don't generalize the entire population based one or two's bad example. You are doing a good thing for this life as well as the life after death if you believe in that.

Image credit - reuse license
https://pxhere.com/en/photo/1295028

Sort:  

Nice article. I love your conclusion. The giver and the receiver have their parts to play. The giver gives on empathy like you said and it's a command from God to give, so whatever the receiver uses the money for is none of our business. In as much as we give, then we have cleared our conscience.

Yes. your comment sum up my article . thank you

very kind of you @shiroichi . what's important is the act of giving, that you had helped someone . ❤️

exactly. If they use it for something bad . thats on them .

You have a big heart and it is so full of love!!
Big Bear Hugs!! x0x0x

Thank you my friend. but i am pretty sure my heart is not big as yours . you are doing great things

From the perspective of the streets who gives a fuck where the money goes? Seriously that money very often goes to drugs or alcohol, but it stops then from having to do other things that will eventually kill them or land them in jail. The money donated to the homeless shouldn't be because you believe one way or the other. It should come from your heart. Know that person is sick if they have addictions. Like cancer that shit so far ain't got a cure. People helped me even though I was using meth and heroin. I am now sober and if the streets. Very often especially with meth people don't like it or there. They use to fucking SURVIVE. pardon my language. Good work.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shiroichi to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!