Time To Grow Roots

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7389.JPG

Hello my Steemians friends. It has been a really wild ride this past month and I have not been writing or posting here or my personal journal and diary. I know, I know...it's a shame. If anything, I do make sure I update my babies little progress and milestone journey in my journal and it seems I have even eluded to that.

We were homeless for a whole month jumping from place to place and living out of suitcases, not knowing for sure where we were going and if we had a place. Kind of like venturing into the unknown which can be an uncomfortable place but we made the best of it.

If there's anything I learned in this past month is that I do not ever want to be without a place to call home. No matter how much I enjoy exploring the unknowns, traveling, or living on a whim I decided we need someplace that would prove fertile to grow some sort of root system in our life. After all, we all have to ground ourselves sometimes for to have a healthy and strong foundation so we can grow. Sorta like a tree. But still do remind myself I am not a tree and that I have the power to uproot anytime I choose to. But for now... *roots.

IMG_7348.JPG
flamboyant tree overhanging the entrance to the house.

IMG_7394.JPG
flamboyant tree flowers

We have finally made the move into our new home that we are renting. It is on the West end of the Island in the rainforest. The roads can get pretty rough going there

IMG_7365.JPG

because it's on top of a hill overlooking the ocean.

IMG_7319.JPG
the view from our deck

IMG_7315.JPG

Living in the rainforest has proven to be quite abundant when it comes to availability of tropical fruit.

IMG_7264.JPG

IMG_7383.JPG

Don't get me wrong there's fruit all over the island and for a price but it's as if nature hands it to you in the forest.

The downside of living in the rainforest is the humidity and living with a hill behind us keep the much appreciated tropical breeze from reaching us.

IMG_7328.JPG

I admit I was reluctant to move to the rainforest because of the humidity and heat at this time of year, where air conditioning is used sparingly with electricity running at $.36/kw (one of the highest in the world).

The upside is that it's only about 2 to 3 months out of the year that we have hot humid heat and then we get ready for the winter cool that grace our islands and the temps might get down to 65 degrees.

IMG_7377.JPG
our humble abode

Sort:  

Great photos!
Where is this paradise?
.....upvoted followed and resteemed

Thank you! St Croix, US Virgin Islands.

Nice. I would love to see this place!
Thanks!

I think everyone should see different parts of the world and the Caribbean Islands should be somewhere at the top of the list. I hope you do get to visit sometime. It sure beats the cold in the winter.

Haha! You know it!