Introducing my passion project, GoHobo: Adventures For Everyone

in #life6 years ago

@simgooder, founder of GoHobo

It's officially been rolling for about 2 years now, which is pretty excited, and it's starting to mature. It took me a while to get started - and to figure out what GoHobo was going to be. First thing I did, was start unloading past adventures onto paper. Once I had a few pieces, I built out the blog, designed and iterated on the brand, and started to put things together.

My goal in all of this was to help people realize that adventures can truly be for everyone, and the value they provide. Travel and other such adventures expand the mind, and provide a life point-of-view like nothing else I've experienced. Honestly, I believe everyone should do it. Leave their comfort zone and climb a mountain, or canoe down a river, or jump in that muddy mountain lake, or hitchhike to the next town over, or grab a filthy-cheap flight and find their way through small-town Mexico.

Anyhow, this all led me to put together the Adventure Directory which is a vetted, curated collection of the best resources to make adventures and travel more accessible, and therefore encourage those who might not necessarily get out there, to get out there.

GoHobo is currently powered by me, and generous content contributors. I have done my best to keep the brand's integrity intact by vetting contributors and even turning down sponsored (paid) content when it doesn't fit with our idealogy.

In all transparency, I've made about $160 from the project since I started it a few years ago. With this money, I paid a few of our best contributors, and put a chunk towards my hosting costs. Over its existence I've put in countless hundreds of hours to this project - and although it's been slow as of late - I am more inspired than ever before to keep on it.

Hope you enjoyed my story. I'd love to hear about some of your adventures in the comments below! If you're interested in hearing more about GoHobo - don't hesitate to reach out!


Find your own adventure

@simgooder

Sort:  

Nice one traveler! Just a couple days ago, I pulled out my old logs where all my travels are on paper. I want to put it on Steemit as an ongoing adventure story!

In the middle of writing out my Eight Month Honneymoon to India and through Europe.

Keep in touch, whennyou head south out of Montreal, there may be a place to park...we're building a multi-family homestead with anarchist tendencies.

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemthat thanks to: @simgooder. Thank you for your support. Stay Updated And Use Cool Tools At SteemThat.com