What does the feeling of being forgotten look like?

in #life7 years ago

When I was 12 years old my father took me to the grocery store to pop in for a few necessities. My instructions were not to stray far and to be ready to leave in 15 minutes. I wasn't ready on time and my father left me. He left me... At first I went through a state of confusion. Then anger set in. He wasn't coming back for me. I realized I had to make the 2 mile walk home in the hot July desert. By the time I got home my father, with a wry smile, asked about my walk. Scathingly, I said hot. "Why did you leave me?", I asked. He replied, "Did you learn your lesson?" I rolled my eyes of course and stormed off to my room. I ruminated for a while until I realized, he was right. He hadn't forgotten me, he actually had my best interest at heart. I learned that lesson.
What happens when you feel forgotten and you have truly been forgotten? Then what? Where is the lesson to be learned? I'm trying to work that one out in my head.
Please share your thoughts.

Sort:  

That must have been scary.

It was at first but I am thankful for the lesson.

I guess parents know best. I know many lessons that my parent gave me. Most of them benefited me.