Me on Pause? Men on Pause? Menopause....

in #life3 years ago (edited)



Yes, it has been forever since I wrote a post. It has not been forever since I thought about writing a post, though. Each day I wake up and believe that today will be the day I can think clearly enough to sit down and write something! Anything! Please! My day closes with nothing noted, and if you asked me what I did each day 99% of the time, I would not be able to tell you.



Drawing late at night when I could not sleep.



Two weeks before flying down to visit my Mom, I received my second covid shot. I went and got the covid shot not to run the danger of ever getting my Mom sick. It was my choice. Even knowing what I do now, I would still get the shot.

During the first week after getting my second covid shot, I became very ill. I could feel every joint in my body. I hurt everywhere. I rested as much as possible, knowing I still had so much left to do before leaving my home for a month. The following week, I spent getting those things done while Wisconsin went through a weird April heatwave.

I then spent a month at my Mom's house living through the hottest May they have ever had in eons. To say I spent the month sweating is an understatement. I do not think my hair dried the entire time I was visiting Mom. I am from the land of snow and ice. I am older and do not like heat. In the middle of Winter, Hubby and I sleep with our bedroom window open and fan blowing.



Hell, even I was scaring the skeletons!



The month I spent with Mom was her taking care of me. We left the house maybe three times in the month I was there. I was not an exciting guest to have. There were many things we had planned to do. Fun things. I did not have the brainpower or energy to do anything.

The last week I was in Florida, I started to feel a bit better. I wrote out lists of projects I wanted to do once I was home. My list was practical. I didn't have anything on there that was asking too much of my body or mind. There are so many things I want to do with my life, so I looked at how to start going about working towards those goals practically.

I have been home almost a month and have not even looked at my list.



Drawing cold drinks to cool off



What I have learned in the last month is even after having a complete hysterectomy due to horrible endometriosis my whole life, at the age of thirty-eight, you can still go thru menopause at fifty-six.

I will say before I received the second covid shot, I was experiencing some night sweats. A few mornings, I would wake up very warm. I can live with that and did and didn't complain. It is all part of being a woman and getting older.



Thank Goodness for window air conditioners!



What I didn't sign up for was being in the middle of an airport and becoming soaking wet in less than one minute. We are talking wet hair dripping... The bright side of this happening to you during covid times is on a booked solid plane, no one wants to sit next to you. I was the only person with an empty seat next to me on the ride home to Wisconsin.

It took me being in my environment to realize that becoming drenched in sweat every two hours while in a room that was 63F/17C was not expected. My body was messed up! I Googled and Smoogled. I made phone calls to cousins' wives that are OBGYN doctors. I wrote to friends asking for advice.



Late Night Musings



I am slowly learning to live with feeling like I am being electrocuted when I hear loud noises or someone touches my skin. I am slowly getting used to the fact that my hair will only stay clean for about two hours if I am lucky, after I wash it. I am slowly trying to find myself in this new normal that has become my life.

I am here. I am doing my best. I am pushing myself to do a little of something that brings me joy each day—more on that in another post.



Wonderful, thoughtful gifts sent to my door!



I do want to thank some wonderful friends that have and still are helping me stay sane through all of this.

@JackMiller and @TheHive for listening to me whine and not complain. @Guiltyparties for being honest and asking the hard questions. @Enginewitty for being worried enough to call and make sure I am alive and breathing. @EnchantedSpirit for listening to me freak out and telling me it's okay. @Shadowpub for being just who she is. @SimGirl for playing Hearthstone with me so I could relax and try and forget I was sweating! @Brisby for cheesecake, calling, letting me use up all your data when I was too tired to type on the phone. My Mom for making me grilled cheese sandwiches whenever I asked for one. @Inthenow for giving me the talking to I needed to carry on.

I am sure I have missed many others. Please know, from the bottom of my heart, I THANK YOU all for putting up with me while my world shifts once again.



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

Oh, my, I feel you, sister! This, too will pass. I started with the flashes more than 10 years ago - in my 40's. Not funny. At. All. Do, though, get help with the symptoms - that really does help. On all levels. I did homeopathic for a while. It helped. It really did.

untitled.gif

Not funny. At. All.

I agree!! You hear about it but more as a joke than a reality....... Someone needs to start speaking in reality I think!!

Yes, I am signed up to see the Doctor this week so we will see what they can do. Not really holding my breath but....we do what we can.

HUGS!!

Indeed. All of the above!

Also, thank you to @JackMiller, @TheHive, @Guiltyparties, @EnchantedSpirit, @Shadowpub, @SimGirl, @Brisby, & @Inthenow for being you. What 'social media' is all about and Hive has given us all that connection and this post here, shows that connections are real and we're all real people that care. Keep spreading the love.

beer1.png
Agreed! I am grateful that I joined Steemit almost 4 years ago, and met you all.

Awwa I am glad to play Hearthstone with you!!! Hope you are better at home.

image.png

hug2.png

Good to hear that you are dealing with all the issues you are facing.. in your own way.. in your own time. We got your back, if you need anything. I wish there was more I could do, but I am always around if you need me. Even just to vent for a few, I am here. ;)

Just knowing I have such a wonderful support group means everything.

Thank YOU for being you and always there to listen!

I could write a book about menopause. It has not been kind to me. About 18 years of hot flashes and night sweats, plus a whole lot of other stuff I won't list. And it's not over yet. It makes me wonder why women tend to live longer than men. I often feel as if I am not living; I am merely existing. P.S. Now that the pictures have loaded, I love the flower couple!

I could write a book about menopause.

YOU SHOULD!!!!!!!!! I would read it!!!!!!!!! and women live longer than men cuz we learn very young how to adapt......To be prepaired for accidents that can come at any time and not when they should. :D

Thank YOU about the flower couple!!

HUGE HUGS!

and I do mean it about writing about it.... Have a think on it!!

We loves you eh! Good to see you starting to take it a little easier and trying to relax a bit.

untitled.gif

Trying LOLL

but you know me :D worry is my middle name LOLL

LOVE YOU!!

hehehe well i loved this!!!!
every single bit of it. not happy about the "new normal" for you - but happy that you are finding peace and balance even in the midst of it and getting the help that you need! and not being afraid to reach out and ask everyone all the things you need to ask! :)

I also had a procedure done that is supposed to (and has been!!!) help immensely with some of the issues I've suffered with through our monthly friend LOL. so far its been amazing - it was an alternative to the hysterectomy (is this TMI for a comment?!?!?! hahahahahahahaha) but i do wonder what will happen around menopause time! After hearing your story - I'll still be prepping my heart for that coming too now!

ok - i'm about to run to your DM - but i'm so glad you're doing ok! haahhaaha I just looked at your account yesterday to check on you - and then you sent this to my DM!!! i think we were on the same wavelength lady - maybe you even wrote this before I wrote and I didn't know hahahahaha either way - i'm so glad you're doing better, and I know that you will thrive even in the midst of these trials. You have so many that love you! Truly love you. and isn't it wild that we all met and love because of the platforms that connected us??? hehehehe

you're an inspiration, my sweet friend. i love you

isn't it wild that we all met and love because of the platforms that connected us??? hehehehe

I think about this a lot and thank God I found everyone here. You all keep me sane!

So much Love!! and MANY HUGS!

yesterday was awesome :)

thank you miss :)

It really was!!

<3

Looking at that table cloth, Someone's gonna be mad all them things you have drawn all over it.

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!
But they are so cute :D

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank You!!