I Need To Be Accepted For Who I Am

in #life6 years ago

I have had this dream for so long of living mobile and going where I want, when I want, with nothing tying me down. I have always wanted to buy a camper and a great vehicle to tow it with and hit the road to travel all over North and South America.

If I can drive there, then I want to go there. I would have to work out insurance and places to park the camper but those are details that I would have to work out. I haven’t gotten that far into planning anything yet.


Photo by KLULE on Unsplash

Why Haven’t I Done It Yet?

I think I have always been terrified of this dream because it is unconventional and I wasn’t sure what my family would think.

The opinion of my family has always meant a lot to me and my parents were so focused on all of their children being successful in life. We were brought up in such a way that we have always had goals we were working towards and checked all the boxes that we are supposed to check as fully functioning adults and productive members of society.

So, I did what I thought everyone expected of me. I got married, bought a house, pursued a respectable career, and added money to a retirement account. Everything that a respectable, mature woman is supposed to do with her life, right?

But I’m Not Happy!

Unfortunately for me, that life has made me absolutely miserable and my family has encouraged me to pursue what I actually want to pursue for myself without holding myself back anymore.

We have had many conversations about life and what success would mean to me. I have realized recently that success means something different to everyone and if you are working towards your goals and/or achieving them then you should be considered successful.

I honestly wish that I realized years ago that living my life according to what others might think of me was not the way for me to live. As it turns out, my parents just want me to be happy but I think they were scared for me because I have always thought differently than the rest of my siblings.


Photo by anja. on Unsplash

Ever since I was a kid, I have thought differently from other people. I have started businesses instead of getting a traditional job.

I had joined the military instead of going straight into college like my friends did.

I got married at an incredibly young age against the advice of my close family and friends.

I have traveled to third world countries completely alone and while not knowing anyone there and rolled up my sleeves to help locals with challenges they were facing.

I have given the shirt off my back to people that took advantage of my kindness and I ended up in financial positions that I wouldn’t have been in if I minded my own business.

But, the thing is that I need to be loved and accepted for who I am without people wanting to change me. I am different, I am weird, and that is ok with me. I really don’t care what people think about me anymore.

I care about what my family and close friends think of me but I have their support in whatever I choose to do with my life from here on out. That right there means the world to me and I will be living my life differently from here on out!

Thanks so much for reading! I would love to hear your thoughts on living life according to your hearts desire instead of according to what other people want you to be.

Ivy

Sort:  

"I care about what my family and close friends think of me but I have their support in whatever I choose to do with my life from here on out."

Congratulations, it sounds like you are in the perfect position to live life on your own terms. But with all the experiences you mention, I am curious as to why you still feel like you are doing "what others expect" instead of "what you want to do"? For example, getting married despite everyone's advice against it sounds more like an example of something you did for yourself before others ?

Thanks for such a thoughtful response to my post. I would say that getting married was something that I did for myself even though it went against the advice of loved ones but I ended up feeling guilty about it after I did it, if that makes sense? I want to be able to make choices for myself and live life on my own terms without feeling guilty for making the choices that I have made. I am slowly moving into that stage of my life now and it feels wonderful. Thankfully, my family is starting to just accept me for who I am now instead of trying to change me into what they want me to be. Their intentions have been very well meaning, of course, because they love me. But, I just don't fit into the conventional mold that my siblings all fit into and my parents are adjusting to that. I'm just now becoming comfortable with who I am and letting others choose to accept me or not. It's very freeing. Thanks again for such a wonderful response.
Ivy

I totally understand what you mean. I also have some underlying guilt I need to work on. It actually is the root of many more issues that one can suspect, it's crazy. Anyway good luck with you future plans and don't listen too much to what other say, even if you love them/ care about their opinion. They may never totally understand you, therefore don't wait for a total approval you may never get from them :)

That is great advice and I appreciate it. I hope you are able to find a way to get rid of your own guilt that you mentioned. Sounds like we both know what we need to work on and now we just need to do it. :)
Ivy

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS IVY! I can 100% relate. I'm in my early twenties and it feels like everyone around me has my life mapped out for me but I'm a nomad at heart. I don't care about having a house because I don't want to settle in one place. I want to travel and experience new things! This was a refreshing read :)

I'm so glad that I am not the only one wanting to get out into the world and travel while experiencing new things about life! It's nice to have people that can relate :)
There's nothing wrong with being nomadic, I can't wait to hit the road as soon as my house sells. Thanks for reading and thanks for the wonderful comment!
Ivy


Merhaba Ben Türk Topluluğu Yardım Botu.
Her yarım saatte bir TR tagı altındaki postları oyluyorum. Curation Kuyruğumuza Katılıp TR tagina sende destek olabilirsin.

SP Delegasyonu, Steem ya da SBD Transferi ile de küçük miktarlar bile olsa destek olabilirsiniz. Gönderilen destekler SP gücüne harcanacaktır.
Spam, Plagiarism tarzı içerikleri bize ileterek oylanmasını engelleyebilirsiniz.
İletişim içn telegram adresimiz: https://t.me/trvoter.