Ask the Car Guy @socky May 1

in #life6 years ago

What is your car trouble?

I want to give back to Steemit community and provide some help on something that I know very well. Cars and how to fix them.

Engine.jpg

Please ask me about your car issue. Won't go into gear. Strange sounds. Don't know if you should take your car in to the shop. Just ask.

Broken Car2.jpg

Send me the make, model, and year along with car symptoms.

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/steemit-rewards-breakdown-a-simplified-explanation-with-illustrations

Sort:  

Hello Socky,

First off, thank you so much for following me before I got to you. I am a new investor and original content provider. Love your dedication to this worth while paradigm. Looking forward to all kinds of banter with you on all sorts of subjects, but today it is Anna. My Van.

Ok, down to business.

1998 Dodge Ram Van 1500 Starcraft Shorty with a 3.9 liter V6 Automatic with a tranny cooler (small). The engine has 130000 highway miles and I use strictly systematic oil. In January I had the oil pump changed, I normally do my own work, mainly cause I am broke but mostly cause I am a gear head. On this model of van the motor needs to be lifted to get the oil pan off. I could not do that and did not have the place to attempt it. So I had it professionally done up in Wisconsin.

Now that I set the stage for the issue that I am having lets get to it.
Main problem, oil single gauge fluctuates and red check gauge light comes on after a healthy hour run time. This will happen when the van comes to a stop but will become normal when beyond idle at higher rpms.

Problem two, since buying this van four years ago. The dip stick never shows a proper level of oil. The stick is always above the required line. I am almost 50 this year and have pulled a number of dip sticks to determine proper fluid level. Sorry, wanted to say that. Back to it. I went so far has to check to see if it had the right dip stick for the motor, it did. The only thing that I did not do was to clean the inner lining of the sheave that goes from the block up to the top of the engine, so it is easier to pull out the dip stick on a van. I have a huge distaste for that style of shroud for a dip stick, oh Dodge.

Back to why I had the oil pump changed. I read on a few forums and or watched on video that the Dodge lower end has a tendency to gum up the orifices of the oil channels in the block. When I bought the van, the previous owner said they pulled it behind there class "A" for a number of years and it sat most of the time. So, I made the decision to drop the pan at a 700 dollar price tag to change a 120 dollar part. Dodge and private shops rake you over the coals with lifting an engine. That is why most engines with a bottom cross member have leaky oil pans. Peeps do not want to lift the engine!

Anyways! My oil pressure increased by 3 fold but still could not get a proper reading on dip stick. So, I had the work done up in Wisconsin and I am currently in Texas. Two days ago, the same oil gauge and dummy light came back on. Wow, kind of stuck. Any clues?

Yes, I do pull my camper trailer. Which puts a strain on the engine and tranny, but with that said, it has happen without pulling a load.

It is the van in my vids, Thanks ahead, Roberto

Not sure by your description if the oil level is too high or too low. Sound like you got the oil level thing figured out. It is interesting that the stick is not at the correct height. Since you checked the dipstick for the correct part, I wonder if the dipstick tube has been replace with the wrong part. The tube could also not be seated all the way in the block.

As for your oil pressure issue, replace the oil pressure sensor. That will most likely fix your problem. If that doesn't work, it could be many problems.

  • clogged oil pickup screen
  • loose oil pickup tube (sucking air)
  • malfunctioning oil pressure regulator
  • bad oil pump
  • bad bearings
  • incorrect viscosity oil

You will laugh at this next sentence. I change my oil all the time, I mean like every 1000 miles. Meaning, I can never get a good reading, so I just change it very often.
Before I had my oil pump changed out. I went through a whole bunch of snake oil and common remedies, i.e. slick 50 type things. I even sea foamed it!
Since the oil pump is 3 months old, I am going to rule out the following, clogged, loose, bad oil pump. Wow if that pump is bad, not good.
oil pressure regulator, yes changed it two years ago. Shop said it worked fine...but those go bad to. cheap fix.
bad bearings, could be...pulling a load around four the past 4 years
i use Quaker state synthetic 5 weight, recommended on Starcraft sticker van body
The dip stick issue...
Dodge was really weird when it came to the whole dip stick hosing. They had issues finding the one for that type of conversion van. I was wondering why would they have a different one for non conversion vans. Still have not found the answer on that.
I have been trying to remove the dip stick housing from the block but it is nestled to the point that I would have to remove a number of items to get at it. Even with the dog house off inside. It is hard to get pasts the exhaust manifolds.
All the points you make are valid. Believe me, I am going to reverify the dip stick length.
More than anything, I wanted to tell you this story. Traveling around, in this beast. Trying to find what I lost. Look forward to diving into the rest of your channel. Best. Roberto
p.s. unless by some miracle you steemit back to health, I am not a comedian

Are you a car engenier

Old is gold

That’s actually pretty neat idea! Are you based in the US?

Good idea , we need to give back to steemit community

Great post! I enjoyed your content. It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)