Rapper Fredo Santana, Dead at 27. When is enough...enough.It's time someone discussed the elephant in the culture+Personal Experiences.

in #life6 years ago

Rapper Fredo Santana, AKA Derrick Coleman was found dead yesterday night by his girlfriend around 11;30 P.m. from liver and Kidney failure.


First it was Lil Peep who passed away from a fentanyl overdose last November . Fentanyl is like a drug they give to people dying of cancer and it's 50x times stronger than heroin. Drug dealers are now " Cutting" or diluting drugs like xanax and promethazine with codeine with harmful and dangerous other drugs that all users may or may not be accustomed to taking.


The question i pose today is: when will we draw the line? How many lives have to be lost until we determine that drugs aren't cool, what drugs are abused regularly? Codeine is a relatively a weak opiate but is the reason for his hospitalization last year for kidney failure. Sometimes things can be just taken to far.

Photo of me high on promethazine w/codeine from 2 years ago.

Let's do some education for all the people who still abuse these substances out here. I will explain the less medically inclined terms for the people who still think shit like this is cool. Prometh w/Codeine is a anti-histamine and a weak opiate. What does that mean? A histamine is a substance that makes you itch and anti-histamine is something that makes the itching and nausea stop. Codeine is a opiate used for pain. You would usually get this if you have a hard time sleeping at night and have a very bad but "dry cough". This is NOT i repeat NOT something to just get fucked up off of, and this is coming from someone with experience. The substance was only meant to be taken for the duration of time that someone would be sick i.e:common cold , flu, pneumonia, etc. i myself damn-near overdosed two years ago from ingesting 12 fl ounces of the substances in a single day. That is almost a whole "Brick" for slang terminology or for educational and medical terminology a whole Pint(16 fl ounces).

Xanax on the other hand is a anti-anxiety drug i repeat "ANTI-ANXIETY". Ya know.... I never understood why individuals without anxiety issues or panic attacks would want to actually take this drug. It will have you super out of it, not coherent, not focused, who wants to be like that over and over. I myself has had a history of anxiety attacks since the 7th grade, now at 22, if i came across Xanax i would only take 1/4th of the pill because that is what is needed for me to properly function but get the benefits at the same time. Furthermore, since i have been to a behavioral center and recently had an anxiety attack i have been prescribed safer alternatives. I started using Xanax recreationally at 18, i thought (at the time) that it was cool my favorite rappers were doing it and also i had a alibi because i do in fact have a history of anxiety and panic attacks. Fast-forward 4 years later, after many blackouts, tons of stupid decisions and many fuck ups later, i have realized that taking it at my leisure was not for a good cause. I have had friends who have crashed cars off of Xanax, robbed, killed, killed someone, and single-handedly destroyed their lives from the drug among other substances.

Point is the hip hop genre has influenced a whole generation to be druggies. It's sickening, when i have to worry about younger family members indulging in it because it is so widely accepted in the culture. Rap and other genres have a huge impact on everyone's life not just the lives affected, but the family, friends and loved ones of the lives affected. I had came to a point where i understood them, i understood that people go through things in their lives and take certain substances to cope but when is enough...enough? With that mindset you might as well kill yourself because to chase a thrill, the high will never truly be fulfilled. When you look at it that way it shows you a different side of the situation. It shows the juvenile mindset of people indulging in these practices. I could no longer be a part of the community of druggies as i seen what it was doing to my body, my mind, and those around me. People start questioning ; Hey, have you lost weight? Are You Okay? and things like that, i couldn't go on seeing me deteriorate my mind and soul like that.

LouandDre2018.JPG

Today I am much happier and healthier with the safer alternatives and maybe just smoking a bit of weed from time to time. I don't need it, i don't need to be super blitzed out of my mind 24/7 and i can love someone and know that others love me so i don't have to depend on substances for Love or what it can do for me. I can maintain a relationship and not be super fucked up all the time, i love myself so i can love someone else. People usually turn to drugs when they feel they have no one else so they figure that substances give them a high so it's doing something for them.
PLEASE! let the lives of these individuals be a reason to WAKE UP! either educate yourself or get HELP! Get help before it's too late. I love you guys and would hate for anything tragic to occur to anyone's life over drugs or any other thing that hinders someone in life.

Love your life, Love yourself, Educate yourself and stay safe people.

WANT MORE POSTS LIKE THESE ,THEN GIVE ME FEEDBACK.

Sort:  

I feel obligated to chime in..
I had a leg taken from me once, that’s another story but in previous decades, pharmaceuticals pouring over the rim’s of pill bottles around me was common. It’s easier for me to name the ones I didn’t add to the breakfast menu: OxyContin (ya that’s it).
Been sober (no liquor, pills, nothing!) since March 2013. Here’s what I know - Being able to function at your optimum ability with the mere assistance of coffee is a blessing! Being able to sleep with the assistance of nothing, other than a bed, is a blessing!
Xanax - makes you forget everything! You may be coherent at the current moment but in a few short minutes, that moment and everything previous will be a blur. Valium will do the same if you take multiple and can manage to stay awake. You can add any of the other Benzo or Anti-Depressants here.
All pain killers are the same, (Percocet, norco, Vicodin, etc) they don’t help the pain, they just make it more fun to deal with. Instead of ‘ouch’ it’s ‘who cares.’ But after a short time taking them, your normal daily steps will become more and more challenging as you become more dependent on them until you can’t even do something as basic as check your voicemail without a pill.
“War On Drugs,” in my opinion, just meant create better drugs, make them more accessible and watch a few industries make a fortune in the process.
Hey I’ll stop now @sonnyknight, I hope you don’t mind such a lengthy response but I really wanted to add to your already great post. Thanks for having me!

No problem, i appreciate the reply. It feels so good to know that other people like me are out there and do realize the deeper issue going on. We both have had experiences with pharmaceuticals rather for it's purpose or for experimentation purposes . The crazy thing most people(under the influence) can't wrap their heads around what's happening to them. Slowly but surely becoming dope heads and leaving the ones who love them to see them throw portions(if not their entire) of their life away due to substance abuse. The time we have on this earth is borrowed. We might as well use it to become productive, But with pill companies slowly not caring about lives and making money from them. I liked the part where you said instead of "ouch" it becomes "who cares". This is the reality of the "war on drugs" that we live in and not only us but our loved ones are a part of as well. Sorry to hear about your leg, it sounds like you have definitely been through some issues, but i can tell from reading it now your strong. Each day we only get better and im as proud of you as i am proud of myself.