On account of smoking - Part 2

in #life6 years ago

A few months after smoking a pack a day, I accepted my fate as a heavy smoker. Back then, I had no plans of quitting at all. I pictured myself getting older with a stick on my mouth and smelling like an ashtray all throughout my days. Almost two years passed and something changed my life for the better.

Let’s just say I had a girlfriend (I’ll discuss more of it later 😊). Before we left for the semestral break, I wrote her a letter and I also said that I’ll stop smoking for her. I even attached a stick of cigarette to the letter. I thought making a promise to her will make me stronger against the temptation of smoking, but it was not enough. I eventually started smoking as soon as I went back to college. Everyday, I think about what I wrote in that letter and disappoint myself every time. Worse, it also disappointed her. Sometimes, she would bring it up and I just tend to not speak a word about it. Honestly, for a smoker, it’s really hard to quit once you get hooked. Prevention is better than the cure, so they say. I guess she’ll never understand how hard it is for me to quit.

Time after time, I felt the pressure to quit smoking. My frustrations, health and money eventually paved way to vaping. Then it hit me.

I had to try vaping.