A Tribute Post: My Angel, My Yaya!

in #life6 years ago

There are people who came into our lives, who helped mold us to become the person that we are now. I actually had a lot of encounter with these kind of people, but there's this very distinct person that I unexpectedly became attached to, cause she did great a job, and made a huge impact.

This post is a tribute to my yaya!

image.png

Me, my cousin, and my yaya. Yaya's place.

Well, my memory is kind of hazy, but I'll do my best to remember most of it! Don't worry I won't confabulate things.

When I was still in nursery I had a yaya, and her name was ate aking. She's like my mom, and at the same time my go to person. Well during this time (o fudge my eyes are sweeling) my mom and dad have to work for like the whole day, so that just means I did not spend most of my pre-school age life with them, to the point that there are milestones in my life that only my ate aking discovered, just like my drawing talent.
:
:
She was so busy at that time cause she's doing a chore, and I was like being a brat and making noises (actually my mom fetches me to my ate aking's house everyday) she was like a little bit annoyed, and then suddenly she just gave me a paper and a pen, I was doodling the whole time and it kept me distracted for the whole day. So it gave her the idea that I like doodling, that everyday she will just give me paper and pen. Then one time, she saw that I drew blossom, bubbles, & buttercup and she was so happy and excited, cause she's seeing the potential in me. She told me to show it to my parents, but when I tried to show it to my dad, he was not impressed, and even scolded me because I was drawing female characters. So, I threw it out. The next day after that, ate aking did the usual, gave me a paper and a pen, and sad to say I did not do anything to it.

She was so worried about it, cause she knew that I am going to be good at it. So, the next day, she gave me a sketch pad and color pencils, when I received it, I became so excited that I forgot what happened and began to draw again. I started drawing animes, johnny bravo, and other cartoon characters in cartoon network. Each drawing I made was complimented, as if they were very good, and it boosted my confidence. I don't know what's got into her, that she always supports me that much.

When I was in my Kinder years, my mom scolded me and hurt me for being so wasteful, cause every time I see blank pages I always tend to draw on them that I filled every page of my new notebook with drawings. I was crying, and I just don't know what I did wrong, cause in the sight of my yaya, as long as I had fun, and did not do anything wrong to a person, then that's good. But my parents were against it. They just simply don't like me being distracted, cause their priority is always about school, and academic stuff. My dad even gave out words to me and to my siblings, that we are not allowed to participate in any extracurricular activities. I was heartbroken.

My parents told my yaya that she should not tolerate me, but thank God my ate aking was stubborn enough to defy them, and let me draw in secret. She even kept my works in a portfolio to make sure my parents won't see it. My parents did not noticed it, cause my grades were maintained. Every time I accidentally draw something on my notebook, my yaya will remove it before my mom sees it. Isn't that amazing!

Grade 2, I have to part ways with my ate aking, cause she's found her love. I was so sad, cause I won't be able to see her again, and my go to person will no longer be present. Growing up with her guidance, and love, I'm really thankful for her. She was my safe haven, and my super hero. I don't want to say this, but that was saddest part of my life.

When she left, she gave me a a charcoal pencil, she said, that I should not keep it, instead I should use it to enhance my talent. I've learned a lot from her, and I owe her my talent.


To ate aking:

Wherever you are, I will always pray for you. Thank you so much for the guidance, and thank you for filling the hole my parents failed to cover. You gave me the confidence I have now. Please know, that being with you for five years, made a great impact to me. Thank you for being the bone inside my empty flesh. I will never ever forget you.

Love,
leo


I consider her my angel, a temporary entity sent by God, to help me and to guide me in this cruel world even for just a limited time.


If you have a touching story, please share it. Don't have any SBD's to give though. LOL!

★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★

VOTE & SUPPORT @surpassinggoogle
By typing @steemgigs as your witness, just click -> https://steemit.com/~witnesses

★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★

image.png