First Steps on the Journey of Becoming Parents(We are Adopting)

in #life7 years ago

We have completed the Open Adoption Seminar.

Wow, it is a lot to take in.

Of course my wife and I already decided this was that path we are taking so this Seminar was just a requirement that needed to be completed to continue on our journey. 2 Days of learning about the adoption experience and how it is for everyone involved.

Amy and I are going forward with a Provincial Open Adoption. We will be adopting a child born in the Province of Alberta. Interprovincial Adoption within Canada it is surprisingly harder to accomplish than an International Adoption if you can believe it!! Open Adoption is where we will have contact with the Birthmother/family through out the process and for the rest of our lives. This is done for the best interests of the child, it answers “Where did I come from?”

One thing I found shocking is that it I can not “Advertise” that we are looking to adopt. Which on one level I can understand. We do not want people putting literally selling or offering to buy children, the moral implications of that are frightening. I am in full support that no money can change hands for the actual adoption of the child, we do not want people having children for profit.

What I find odd is that we can not say we are adopting. And by posting this I am technically breaking the law within the province of Alberta. I am thrilled that I get to be a Dad!! I know that now that we are on this path that we will be parents, little feet and little toes are coming!! I can not feel guilty for saying in a public format that we are adopting!

I want people to know that there are men and women out there like my wife and I that want to open our lives to a child. Letting the world know that people like us are out there in my sincerely held belief if it can prevent some one from making a decision they could regret for the rest of their lives it is worth it.

The Agency we are going with has right now 142 families on their waiting list for children to be placed. They average 130-160 families at any given time. Thus far in 2017 they have placed 20 children. I believe it is safe to say there are more than 142 choices made that would be different if they knew people like Amy and I were out there.

We are going to have our Family!!! We will have a Family of Choice!

4c29cc66fa5710b6d58e6764a289a072 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @spikedgiraffe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great step

We are super excited to begin this new adventure!!

Glad to hear that! :D

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond