You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Amazon Threat to US Economy?

in #life5 years ago

Yes @yehitars, you make some very good points.

Short term yes. Long term no.

They said the same thing about Walmart; but, it seems that their competition is bigger and better. For me, that’s scary, as I never would have imagined a threat bigger than WM…

And most are tired of automous/anonymous side of business.
I’m seeing people wanting recognition by who they buy their service or product.

I’m not so sure about this…lol…I love online shopping. Now, regarding specialty products, there’s nothing like the personal touch of handmade quality; I agree. But, most everyday buys are generic/mass produced in nature.

More people these days are willing to pay 2$ more for that human feel if it’s budgetable.

…if it’s budgetable…is the catch phrase...$2 more is doable; but, few are able to put $1K on the table for a pair of glove-fitting, handmade Italian loafers or Tony Ramos designer boots…These companies make their money by selling high price to a select few.

Another thing. Amazon will not always have a free ride from their use of usps.
People will abandon usps if it costs 1$ to mail a postcard. Where’s their profitability then.

Don’t be so sure…Amazon seems to always be one step ahead…I wouldn’t be shocked if Bezos didn’t start a stamp company, selling a few pennies less than USPS…When I say disturbing, I’m not kidding. This guy is focused on a one-stop-shop conglomerate. Smh…just got creepier…lol…

Also local lg chain grocers now deliver or you can pick up a list sent.

Yes, this might be a shining light in the cloud. It seems the Whole Foods buy is being met with a little less fanfare than expected. I understand the original owners selling; as the more economy-friendly chains were hurting their bottom line. That said, I expect Bezos will turn these properties into warehouse pickup-stops if things go bust.

Smh…this guy is an AI ‘genius’. Hold on for the ride.

Peace.