The Amazing Journey of Steves Heart

in #life6 years ago

Hello world. I'm back from a crazy tour:
It started on Saturday, Apr. 7, 2018
Actually it starts in Nov. 2016 with my heart attack. Eight stents later I was still having pain and pressure. But on that Saturday Apr. 7, the angina pectoris was too strong of a warning. I had to go to a different doctor because my doctor was closed Saturdays. After the normal ECG and blood tests, he told me that I better get to a hospital and that means not the local hospital, but one that could do a cardiac catheterization.
So, 40 minutes with an ambulance from here to Ravensburg? Hmmm? An emergency doctor would have to ride with me. That's no good to have an emergency doctor ride around for hours! The only alternative is the helicopter. I thought: what? A helicopter ride to Ravensburg? For me? I'm not even feeling any symptoms.
Anyway, here's another selfie from my helicopter ride:
20180407_122855.jpg
Since it's Saturday, I have to wait until Monday for the test. On Monday, I'm of course hopeful that they'll find something and fix it with a stent or two. But then the shock! The head physician says "Bypass" Gulp! They don't do bypass surgery in Ravensburg, and he recommends the University Clinic in Ulm. They make an appointment for next Monday. So, Conni and I have a nice 4 days at the Hotel Ravensburg Hospital ;-)
20180408_165500.jpg
Conni never left my side!
20180408_165746.jpg
Then on Friday it's another nice ride - this time sitting in an ambulance to Ulm for over an hour. (sorry, no selfie)
But here's the view out of my window in Ulm:
20180413_120227.jpg
I had to wait the whole weekend. Then came Monday, the day of my surgery. They gave me pill to relax me. I vaguely remember being wheeled away, then I opened my eyes and said "what day is it?". It was Tuesday - one week ago today.

Now I'm finally sitting comfortably on the sofa at home.
20180424_164900.jpg
Home! One week after a triple bypass surgery – amazing!
I'm doing pretty good! I'll be relaxing and recovering at home for the next two weeks. Then I'll be at the rehab center in Neutrauchburg (Germany) for three weeks. I'm looking forward to that!
Thanks so much to everyone who was thinking about me. Maybe that's the reason that I'm doing so good! I feel strong and confident and I'm looking forward to nature, music and good people.
See you soon!
Love, Steve

Sort:  

Congratulations @srangel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @srangel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!