You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Book, The Bible, Cannot Be Proven as the Infallible Word of God, Therefore the Argument is Pointless

in #life8 years ago

I too am interested in why unbelievers feel the need to make such unprovably definitive statements everywhere they can. "Methinks the poster doth protest too much." as Shakespeare might say.

Sort:  

Since I happen to be a devout believer, I think you are the one who is missing the point. You need a magic book to confirm your faith.

I suppose it is true that everything I know about Jesus comes out of eyewitness testimonies passed down through the ages and collected in the Bible.

When it comes to any tidbit of information about Him or what He said, it either agrees with the Bible or it doesn't.

If it doesn't, I have to ask which is true - the Bible or whatever other competing source is endeavoring to contradict it.

It's really hard for me to imagine any other source of information that I would trust to override the teachings in the Bible.

I know that in the last days "false christs and false prophets will arise to deceive many people." The Bible is my primary defensive "checksum" against that.

John 1:1 - In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

That 'magic book' you speak of is God.

You need a magic book to confirm your faith.

Yes, guilty as charged. I need God to confirm my faith.

The Bible is your God? I'm not debating the truth of John 1:1, just that it refers to the paper pages, sandwiched between leather you carry.