Choosing The Right Ambition | Blog #2

in #life2 years ago

20220618_224817.jpg
When we are still at the young age, we always think of what we become, what would be if we grow up, and what we can achieve in the future.
And I wanted to share on sonewhat random.

This is my 2nd official blog on Hive, and I really glad that you guys, especially @proteancreator/ @ocd, @brittandjosie, @heyhaveyamet, @jamerussell, and @consciouscat for actually giving me advices, exposure, and support in continuing sharing all the things I can share. I might be a bit inactive, but I'm willing to give my best shot.
@/proteancreator asked me to answer the 2 questions he said on his comment, but instead of just edit my introductory blog, I will just put my answers here (at the last part of this blog)

Without further ado, let's start!

The Time Of Thinking "What Will I Be?"

When I was 5 years old and going to move up to elementary, all the class, including me, are asked to write in a piece of paper, "What Will I Be When I Grow Up?/What's My Ambition?" and why that ambition?
At first, I'm a bit troubled. Here's the thing. Before, I'm a little teacher, always love listening to my teachers and loves to be one of them, now it's a bit different (explanation later).
So I write down,
I want to be a Teacher! Because I want to teach.

Not bad for a kiddie like me. Seeing my classmates writing down, being an engineer, a doctor, a policeman, and such. Then we give our papers to our teacher and she said...

Your ambitions are good. You guys love helping people and such. And since you kids are going to move up to elementary, we wish you good luck on accomplishing your education to become what you want to be... We'll also write your chosen ambition on the yearbook! So your parent will know what you want to be in the future.

On the day of the ceremony, my parents got the yearbook, and they were surprised of what I chose to be.
They were happy and willing to support me on what I want to be.

But on my 5th Grade, I changed my ambition, and I want to be a policeman.
Many laughed as they heard what I said, but my teacher and my friends fully supported me on my decision.
Here's the thing. I'm underweight and even weak at first. That's why they laugh. It didn't affect me 'cuz I know that it'll happen, no matter what's my condition.

Then on 7th grade, I changed heart again, this time, I switched to become a Computer Programmer. Because I know technology much more than some of my classmates before.
I even remember I'm the talk of the school when I first showed my PowerPoint presentation to them, and it was so well made! Then from helping teachers from using Facebook like I know more about Facebook than most people.
Then I start gaining interest in technology, then gaming comes in. And I got an inspiration from several developers, and started watching tutorials about coding Lua for a platform called Roblox. Literally at the age of 13, I gained interest on coding. And started watching tech reviews, then somewhat lose interest on watching those.

Then on 2021, that's where I'm now having troubles.
The time after the Typhoon Odette aftermath in the Philippines, I thought of something to really decide on and focused on when I go to college.

Here's my thoughts:

Being a...
Teacher: I like teaching, but at the age of 13, I lost my confidence to confront the crowd, but still keeping my skill of explaining. I like students who wants to learn for their future, but on the downside, too stressful and might not be suitable for me having more interest in technology.
Policeman: Ever since I saw those man in blue uniform, protecting the people from crimes and investigating. I got inspired from all policemen around the town, including my uncle who's a policeman. Not because I like blue uniforms, but knowing I have quite some knowledge, gifted from God and my father, and somewhat just like protecting the community. But most of the interests I had are not suitable for this job, aside from cybercrime.
Computer Programmer: Above all the interests and skills I have, this is the so-far, the closest profession to get. Having some knowledge, ideas, and inspiration from various devs makes me feel I'm good enough for this profession, plus, I get to be a YouTuber at the same time, because I like giving contents to people.

I was so stressed despite choosing the right profession is easy. But I know its not. There's no going back on doing life decisions. Once chosen, no more going back. That's why I have to decide before the time comes.

How I Manage To Choose What's Best

To start with, I asked my friends and cousins what ambition suits me most. They go with being me as a police officer. They really mean it, so I took that as a yes to being an officer of the law.
Some of my cousins asked me if I'm really committed and sure about being one, and where's I'm being unsure again.
Then, I asked my parents about my problem regarding to this matter. I asked them if I'm suitable for being an officer despite my weight and condition of being thin, and they said that I should ask God for a sign if God really wants me to become one. Decision making with God is the best way to know what's best for us.
Since I asked it on December 30, I prayed this...

“...God, I need a confirmation about being an officer. So want you, God, to show me at least 10 policemen and/or police cars before New Year, to prove that you want me to become one...”

That's what I prayed. Then on December 31, I started waiting with patience with any police cars or policemen roaming around the road.
At first, I counted around 3 cars and 4 policemen, huge start. It's like counting sheep.
Then in the afternoon, I counted 5 cars and 7 policemen in total.
Then on evening, despite the dark road because the power's not fixed yet, I have to observe for flashing red and blue lights and see if its a police car.
Since I can't see better with the dark. I came up with an idea, that if a police car came by, I expect there's at least 1 policeman driving the car.
Then on 10pm, the last policeman came, right after I want to go back home! I thank God for that moment! I know it's a bit weird to see someone counting cars, but asking signs are the best way to know what God wants you to do.

Here's some pointers I want to point out.

  • Ask God first for a sign or help
  • Ask your parents or someone close to you
  • Ask your friends
  • Know your skills and talents and make use of it, and
  • Be confident on what you choose.

Closing Thoughts

It's been a pleasure sharing with you the things I did to know the best for me.
Decision making is easy to say, but hard to commit, but as long you're confident and know what's best, you made the right decision.

Thanks for reading!

As for @/proteancreator's questions
What Does This Platform expect from me?
Well, I write about thoughts, experiences, and such, as mentioned on my introductory blog. I want to also help the new and old users here by upvoting, commenting, and following them when I'm interested.
What Do I Expect From This Platform?
I expect good people to meet with, good communities as well, and the development of the Hive community, as well as knowing a bit from Hive and investing on learning crypto from this platform. The excitement is really making me committed to this platform.

Well that's all! Thanks.

Created on: (Date of Upload) Blog No.: 2 Author: @stanleyclark1

Cover Photo by: Brett Jordan, Unsplash, edited by me on PixelLab

Follow Me On:
Hiveread.cashnoise.cash

Sort:  

Congratulations @stanleyclark1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Looks like you're off to a great start, @stanleyclark1

Well done on reflecting on what you'd really like to do. A word of advice from someone much older than you: life is long. You may end up doing many different things for work in your adult life :)

BTW, ProteanCreator is a lady :)

Oh I didn't realised that Protean is a she, my bad 😂

😁 If I'm ever unsure (because the username often doesn't make it obvious) then I click over to look if they have a photo of themselves either in their profile or on one of their posts. Some people don't share photos either because they're protective of their identity. So if it's important to me that I know their gender to be able to refer to them somewhere, then I read through a post or two and see if/when their language gives it away. It usually does. Happy journeying, Mister 😉