Day 4 in isolation and 2.5 days of cleaning out the study

in #life4 years ago

My word, what a task this has turned out to be! I can't admit that I've spent all my time cleaning as there have been meals to cook and kids to entertain, but it still feels like one hell of a slog. Fingers crossed I'll be done before I go to bed...whatever time that might be.

I did take a couple hours out this afternoon to setup my guitar recording rig. It was sort of working before but I was limited to using headphones as I didn't have enough space for my monitors. A full test will likely have to wait until tomorrow.

IMG_1428.jpeg

Excuse the mess ... it's still a work in progress.

My setup revolves around my 2013 iMac which has had a memory upgrade. I do lovely Mac machines, you may be able to see my MacBook hiding under my pad. I find they generally just work when it comes to recording and are lovely and quiet. The same setup on Windows seems to be a bit of a faff. This machine is also great of editing my photos.

Being an ex "techie" and still being an IT hobbyist I still run a fairly powerful Windows machine for training and running labs. That's shoved in the other corner where the iMac used to sit. Ventilation is so much better on that side of the room as the machine is now away from the radiator.

IMG_1424.jpeg

You can see the blue glow of the base unit behind the cardboard on the right. I've removed one of the shelves from the unit to keep it off the floor and much of the ventilation is through the bottom of the case. I will need to get myself a WIFI card for it at some point as that's something it is missing and unfortunately I don't have a cable long enough to run around the room.

It is cleaner and more organised than it was before! Honest.

Better stop gassing and get back to it!

Sort:  

Very tidy compared to my house, you have it easy I say!

haha you defo got bored

It was either this to tackle the kids bedrooms - I'd go for this any day!

i will take the cats litter tray :D haha

Looks good the stud7. Watch Marie Kondo on netflix, get's you really in the mood to organise and full of ideas!

That's a new one on me! I'll have a poke about later and see what I can learn.

Finally just about finished in here now. I can tell it's so much better as the dog can now spread out on the floor behind me.

I'll be around the house all weekend, so I may try attacking my study too. Stuff just accumulates here. The filing cabinet is a candidate as it fills up with old stuff that never gets removed.

I've been trying to breath life into my original MacBook Pro from 2006 so the kids can use it. It has been fighting me all the way! OSX can't support modern browsers so trying to get Ubuntu 16.04 up and running. I think I'm getting there slowly!

Oh I'd never share photos of other rooms in the house :D